Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 2
Dynamic Base Currency
 
Anjanesh
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  136
Joined:  2008-03-15
Mumbai, India
 

1. Change Price Scope to Website under System -> Settings -> Catalog

Where is this located ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
guido7
Member
 
Total Posts:  40
Joined:  2009-07-04
 

I also v much need to do this.

My payment gateway allows me to take payment directly in different currencies (i.e. no conversion takes place at the customer’s end).  Many other gateways offer the same.  Customer changes to dollars, they actually pay in dollars.

How can we set up Magento so that if a customer selects to view products in a different currency, then the prices quoted in that currency are the exact same prices and currency that will get sent to the payment gateway.  This is far preferable to the current situation.

At the moment, as others have said, Magento still sends the base currency (which I think is fixed).  So if my base currency is euro and someone has chosen to view in US dollar prices, he/she will checkout and have payment taken in euro.  Their own card issuer will then do a conversion on their bank statement showing a USD amount that may end up being quite different (from the indicative WebserviceX USD price they viewed).  This is far from ideal and is undoubtedly going to lead to less conversions (plus a certain amount of purchasers who come back with queries being confused/upset about the discrepancy).

Please tell me this can be done somehow, in the Community edition.

Thanks for any help

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
The Sunday Paper
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  202
Joined:  2008-08-06
 
Anjanesh - 22 February 2010 09:22 PM

1. Change Price Scope to Website under System -> Settings -> Catalog

Where is this located ?

In Configuration, you must click the “Catalog” tab (under the “Catalog” heading), then go to the section entitled “Price.” After you’ve changed that to Website scope and saved the configuration, a Base Price option will appear under Currency Setup when you view the configuration at the Website level.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
diosalimited
Member
 
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2009-03-28
Brighton, UK and Malaga, Spain
 

So from what I understand then this is impossible to do if you have one website with a store view for each language/currency, and this is a Magento restriction regardless of whether it\’s PayPal or any other PSP being used ?

(ie. a main UK website in GBP, with multiple store views using multiple currencies… Spanish store view with Euro\’s, Australian with AUD, US with USD etc etc)

So I now have to re-build and re-structure our site to multiple websites and not multiple store views, this sounds like fun >:(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Flekstad
Member
 
Total Posts:  35
Joined:  2009-06-08
 

My base prices are in NOK and we have just opened a shop in England with GBP prices. I tried the mentioned solution to avoid having the prices show as NOK for the English customers but then every price was shown as the norwegian ones but as if they were britsh pounds.

The exchange rate between NOK and POUNDS are 0,1 so thats a huge difference.

How can i fix this? I want customers in england to see the prices as GBP in paypal as well, not NOK. And we use the same products but with exchange rate for prices.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ayding11
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-06-21
 
Flekstad - 08 March 2011 06:18 AM

My base prices are in NOK and we have just opened a shop in England with GBP prices. I tried the mentioned solution to avoid having the prices show as NOK for the English customers but then every price was shown as the norwegian ones but as if they were britsh pounds.

The exchange rate between NOK and POUNDS are 0,1 so thats a huge difference.

How can i fix this? I want customers in england to see the prices as GBP in paypal as well, not NOK. And we use the same products but with exchange rate for prices.

I have the same issue. When price scope is changed from global to website, then prices from the old global base currency are copied to the new website and displayed with the new currency without conversion. It seems the new prices need to be updated manually for all of the products or imported. It would be very nice if the conversion happened automatically. Any ideas anyone?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ryukyufire
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2010-07-02
Melbourne, Australia
 

Same here!!! The way Magento handles currencies is a bit annoying. I want to charge customers in their selected currency and also want to provide prices based on one currency. Magento won’t let me do it!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cherry-electronics
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2010-10-18
 

Has anyone any information about this?  The very reason we chose Magento was to be able to migrate several stores with different coutry pricing into one system.

Due to the exchange rate fluctuating dramatically at the moment I want to be sure that I am selling at the correct price so I dont wipe out profit on exchange rates variations - for example I have set the exchange rate conversion high on europe for 2 reasons -RRP can be different than europe (manufacturers dont like it when we list products under RRP) and secondly we want to profit from this by making the profit higher to compensate for extra delivery costs. 
How can this be acheived if magento is taking the sterling UK site price and not the euro equivalent sterling at checkout????? I thought this was what happened until i checked my profit and its worse for europe and it should be better!  so the final value achieved for each sale should be higher for the euro sales to compensate for risk and hgher delivery costs.

What is the point therefore of having euros pricing on the site and then charging a different one at checkout?  this makes no sense to me. I may as well just set the euros websites to show sterling price instead.

This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed asap

Is anyone else selling into europe?  How do you achieve the correct pricing without changing the base currency (this is not an option as products have purchase prices in sterling!)

HELP!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Iclicknetwork
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2009-04-02
 

Hi,

Is this what you want? I think it\’s fit for your requirement

Magento Multiple Base currencies

Hope it can help you

Thank you,
Tuan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fixxi1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2011-12-16
 

guys , anything new on this issue ?

I would rather throw money in the garbage than rely on Paypal for currency conversions.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jakehardy
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2009-01-17
London
 

Hi All,

Did this ever get sorted?

Has ayone used this:
http://iclicknetwork.com/services/magento-extensions/multiple-base-currencies.html

Did it work?

Thanks
Jake

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Onvertiser
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-05-14
 

Hello,

here is a solution:
http://inchoo.net/ecommerce/magento/magento-checkout/magento-paypal-standard-how-to-pay-with-currency-other-than-base-one-and-do-it-in-your-language/

for me (magento 1.7.0.0) work the solution by “niujiao” in the comments area:

I find out a way, test, it works, but I don’t know if there is any problem.
for magento 1.4.2.0
1.app\code\core\Mage\Paypal\Model\Standard.php line 124
change from
->setCurrencyCode($order->getBaseCurrencyCode())
to
->setCurrencyCode($order->getOrderCurrencyCode())

2.app\code\core\Mage\Paypal\Model\Cart.php
line 280 to line 283
change from

self::TOTAL_SUBTOTAL => $this->_salesEntity->getBaseSubtotal(),
self::TOTAL_TAX => $this->_salesEntity->getBaseTaxAmount(),
self::TOTAL_SHIPPING => $this->_salesEntity->getBaseShippingAmount(),
self::TOTAL_DISCOUNT => abs($this->_salesEntity->getBaseDiscountAmount()),

to

self::TOTAL_SUBTOTAL => $this->_salesEntity->getSubtotal(),
self::TOTAL_TAX => $this->_salesEntity->getTaxAmount(),
self::TOTAL_SHIPPING => $this->_salesEntity->getShippingAmount(),
self::TOTAL_DISCOUNT => abs($this->_salesEntity->getDiscountAmount()),

line 291 to line 294
change from

self::TOTAL_SUBTOTAL => $this->_salesEntity->getBaseSubtotal(),
self::TOTAL_TAX => $address->getBaseTaxAmount(),
self::TOTAL_SHIPPING => $address->getBaseShippingAmount(),
self::TOTAL_DISCOUNT => abs($address->getBaseDiscountAmount()),

to

self::TOTAL_SUBTOTAL => $this->_salesEntity->getSubtotal(),
self::TOTAL_TAX => $address->getTaxAmount(),
self::TOTAL_SHIPPING => $address->getShippingAmount(),
self::TOTAL_DISCOUNT => abs($address->getDiscountAmount()),

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vanquish
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2012-07-01
 

We previously built code in 1.4CE to switch the currency before saving in the order and reset it after however for us the code became redundant.

Since then Magento offers website scope pricing which is the method we use, it is lower maintenance to use the standard functionality.  The price is set per website and each store will use that as the base price, normally you would have USD, EUR and GBP websites for an international site with store views using display currencies for each country.  We use MDM solutions such as Pimcore and Talend for managing the products data including base currency and via a script batch load to Magento updating the pricing for each website using the internal currency translations.  The full product dataset needs to be reloaded periodically to reflect changes in the base currency rates, either direct databse updates or a full batch reload.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Vanquish
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2012-07-01
 

The statement “PayPal Module simply hands over the ordered amount in the ordered currency” is the way it should work for both PayPal and all other gateways, however Magento provides website pricing instead to handle this.  Our view is that either there were technical constraints or they were concerned about accounting for currency differences, the case would be as in most ERPs Local Currency (base/website currency), Transaction Currency (payment gateway currency) and Document Currency (display currency), Magento is missing Transaction Currency and uses website pricing as a workaround.

Based on thousands of products it is more beneficial for us to solve this using external PIM tools for data entry and load these to Magento with currency conversion at load time allowing multiple transaction currencies and checkout with different payment gateways, using standard Magento functionality.  Obviously there are many other benefits however it requires a longer implementation cycle providing decreased product maintenance, it is not simpler but does reduce medium to long term costs.  If you look at this as a short term option it is the most complicated and costly.

A simpler solution is to upload the datasets via the import or manually update the pricing for each website, another albeit higher risk solution is to extend the saveOrder code to adjust the checkout currency on a single website, we also understand that someone has written an extension however we have no experience of this.

If you have a relatively complicated Magento installation with a medium to long term view then the PIM tools normally provide a better return on invement, if you have a simpler store then an extension, code change or manual product updates are better methods for shorter term benefits.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magecoders
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2011-10-24
 

Hope this thread will help you:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/272585/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 2