Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
I changed base_url and broke everything
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Hello,

I need some help here.  I have added a few pages and products.  It was good work that I have in there and don’t want to have to start over.  I change the following:

Base URL: http://mydomain.com/magento/
Base Link URL: {{unsecure_base_url}}
Base Skin URL: {{unsecure_base_url}}skin/
Base Media URL: {{unsecure_base_url}}media/
Base JavaScript URL: {{unsecure_base_url}}js/

AND

Base URL: https://mydomain.com/magento/
Base Link URL: {{secure_base_url}}
Base Skin URL: {{secure_base_url}}skin/
Base Media URL: {{secure_base_url}}media/
Base JavaScript URL: {{secure_base_url}}js/

TO

Base URL: http://mydomain.com/magento/
Base Link URL: http://mydomain.com/magento
Base Skin URL: http://mydomain.com/skin/
Base Media URL: http://mydomain.com/media/
Base JavaScript URL: http://mydomain.com/js/

Base URL: https://mydomain.com/magento/
Base Link URL: https://mydomain.com/magento
Base Skin URL: https://mydomain.com/skin/
Base Media URL: https://mydomain.com/media/
Base JavaScript URL: https://mydomain.com/js/

Now everything as far as being able to get into admin is broken.  I get pages not found everywhere and the store front doesn’t have any graphics.  It is pure html text with no colors.  How can I change those URLS back to normal since I can’t get back into admin?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

anyone have any suggestions on this one?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Please, someone must know something on this one.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Not sure of this.

Try something like ‘mydomain.com/magento/index.php/admin’

I maybe wrong, but I really think you shouldn’t mess around with ‘base skin’, ‘base media’ and ‘base media’.

Hope this helps and that you can get back to your admin login.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

I can get to the admin login page with that url just fine but once I enter my credentials, it tries to re-direct me (because i broke those urls) and then I get “page not found” errors and don’t ever really see the admin side :-\

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Ok, I was able to get to the admin page and make the changes but when I click “Save Config”, that button won’t work.  It just stays there and doesn’t save anything...this sucks!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

So, does anyone know if there is a back-way to fixing my URL’s because the Save Config button is not working and I am assuming that it’s not working because the URL’s are broken.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Is there a developer that can tell me how to correct this please???

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AnnaM
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  325
Joined:  2008-01-29
San Francisco
 

Maybe I am missing somehing, but II am not sure why you changed any of this.  I have never touched this page and have no problems.  I don’t understand the page, and therefore leave it alone, and have not ever encounteered a problem. Maybe I missed some point here, but don’t know why you changed it. Those urls are all defined during the installation I think.  And with all those parentheses, curly braces etc, and lord knows what, I just leave it alone!  LOL

Why don’t you try putting it back to its original state?

Good luck with it, you may need a team member or someone much wiser than I on the subject, but I’ve never changed it in some 5 months of using magento.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Anna,

Thanks for the reply.  I was actually changing these in hopes to fix my SSL redirect issue.  The problem started that when I would place an order with Paypal to checkout, the url was not redirecting to SSL and therefore the checkout was failing.  So, I tried to mess with these settings and now I have this mess...lol.

I am trying to do a little crash course with mysql to see if I can find this info in the DB itself and change it back to normal in there.  The problem is that I cannot change it back to normal in the admin side anymore because it links are all broken and I have to add the correct paths in my url.  Once I do, I am able to make the change but the “Save Config” button does not work (again perhaps because the links are broken)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Rational Calvert
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2008-06-03
 

It’s possible that your graphics disappeared because you left the trailing slashes off your Base Link URLs (unless that’s just a typo in your post).

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Rational,

Actually, I left it like that because from default when base url links was working, it never had a trailing slash.  All I did was remove the variable to make it static instead still leaving the trailing slashes where they belong

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AnnaM
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  325
Joined:  2008-01-29
San Francisco
 
unix4linux - 12 June 2008 06:45 AM

Anna,

Thanks for the reply.  I was actually changing these in hopes to fix my SSL redirect issue.  The problem started that when I would place an order with Paypal to checkout, the url was not redirecting to SSL and therefore the checkout was failing.  So, I tried to mess with these settings and now I have this mess...lol.

I am trying to do a little crash course with mysql to see if I can find this info in the DB itself and change it back to normal in there.  The problem is that I cannot change it back to normal in the admin side anymore because it links are all broken and I have to add the correct paths in my url.  Once I do, I am able to make the change but the “Save Config” button does not work (again perhaps because the links are broken)

hmmm, sounds like a “sticky wicket’ all right.  Re db editing, probably your best bet is a great free utility called PhpMyAdmin which has a great search and edit feature, and even find/replaace etc. Just not sure what you may need to replace.  It might be best to export your products and reinstall, but then it sounds like your products are all with broken links now. 

Just a hint when troubleshooting something like you were, take one step at a time, and if it doesn’t work, revert immediately to original.  You probably know that, and from what you describe, even your firist step may have broken things, but it seems like reverting back would have unbroke it.  But then now it won’t let you save.  Yikes!

Good idea to dump your db every night in a cron job, use a script that will store in in a different foldrer
/monday
/tuesday
etc.  I have one if you are interested.  or just do a command line mysqldump daily and call it mondaysDB.sql, tuesdaysDB.sql etc.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Anna,

Thanks again!!!  I will see if using phpmyadmin will help

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

BTW - yeah, I do make changes one step at a time to see if it helps but my first change broke it all...lol...yes, YIKES on not being able to change it back by using “Save Config” button...DOHHHH… grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
unix4linux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Anna!!!!!

We got it....thanks so much.  I used PhpMyAdmin as you suggested, ran a search on all tables for “myurl” and it told me it was in core_config_data table.  I then was able to go in there and change the “value” on those fields from “myurl” to “secure/unsecure_*urls”

Good stuff.  I am back in business!!...thanks again!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2