Magento Forum

Question on file structure

SwiftCol

Total Posts:  85

I am looking at app/design/frontend/default/default/layout/page.xml, and I have deduced that a blocks “type” attribute coresponds with that blocks class, located with in app/code/core/Mage/

So if I put in page/html_breadcrumbs
it will grab app/code/core/Mage/page/Block/html/breadcrumbs.php

Can you please explain this relationship? What if I wanted to edit the breadcrumbs class? I don’t want to change a core file, because that may prevent me from upgrading Magento later on, but i don’t know how to get anything to point to php classes in the local folder (as appossed to ‘core’)

As you can see i’m rather new at all of this, and any explanation or Wiki link that you can provide to help me understand how you go from a line in an XML file, to a PHP class being loaded, would really be appreciated.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

crius
Guru

Total Posts:  623
Denmark

You are on the right track. Instead of modifying a core class, you make a new class that extends that class. Then you tell Magento to use your class instead of the one from the core. You can do that by “rewriting” the class in local.xml as shown here:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/groups/174/changing_and_customizing_magento_code

You can also make your own xml file and put it in app/etc/modules.

Magento Community
Magento Community

SwiftCol

It this a standard Smarty template thing, or Magento specific?
Thanks for the link and info.

Magento Community
Magento Community

crius
Guru

Denmark

It’s not Smarty, it’s Magento’s own way of doing it. XML files for setting up the layout (blocks) and then html templates for each block.

Magento Community
Magento Community

SwiftCol

Anders,

I have copied the original app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Block/Category/Breadcrumbs.php into a new folder located at app/code/local/MyCompany/Catalog/Block/Breadcrumbs.php