Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Remove Cache
 
tman_f
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  85
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Hi All,

This might seem a little miniscule, but does anybody know how to manually disable the cache? For instance, I have moved my Magento installation to a different location, and I forgot to disable the cache before I told the db to look at the new location. Consequently, I am unable to get to the admin section to disable to cache. Is there a switch in the db, or are there some cache files that I can delete somewhere?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Crucial Web Host
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  364
Joined:  2007-11-08
Phoenix, AZ
 

You can safely delete var/cache/*

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
piccaya
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-10-07
Brussels
 

Hi,

Since I have deleted the content under var/cache - I have the following error

Notice: Undefined index:  0 in /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Mysql4/Config.php on line 92
Trace:
#0 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Mysql4/Config.php(92): mageCoreErrorHandler(8, ‘Undefined index...’, ‘/var/www/vhosts...’, 92, Array)
#1 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Config.php(220): Mage_Core_Model_Mysql4_Config->loadToXml(Object(Mage_Core_Model_Config))
#2 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/App.php(236): Mage_Core_Model_Config->init(Array)
#3 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/Mage.php(424): Mage_Core_Model_App->init(’’, ‘store’, Array)
#4 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/app/Mage.php(443): Mage::app(’’, ‘store’, Array)
#5 /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/carrefour/index.php(52): Mage::run()
#6 {main}

Thanks to let me know the solution.

Many thanks

piccaya

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jklina
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  82
Joined:  2008-06-12
Philadelphia PA
 

I’m also getting this problem and have deleted my cache and sessions. Any ideas would be appreciated!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jklina
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  82
Joined:  2008-06-12
Philadelphia PA
 

Turns out the problem for me was foreign key restraints in Magento’s backup files. phpmyadmin didn’t like them on importing. Rather then using phpmyadmin I imported my file from the command line (ssh). This imported the DB successfully and my site loaded up just fine.

mysql -u USER -p DBNAME dump.sql

GL

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jan_Wohlfeil
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  28
Joined:  2008-08-04
Germany
 

that did it for me, too. be shure to use a dumo from the backup function of magento, because dumps from phpMyAdmin will not work because of the foreign key problem…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top