Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Video Tutorials For Using, Editing, and Programming Magento

stevewar

Total Posts:  20

Hi everyone,

I installed Magneto on Saturday and quickly started running into many of the same issues as everyone else in this forum. While I have found many knowledgeable and helpful people, I still have had to spend a bunch of time figuring things out on my own. Fortunately for me, I am a quality assurance software engineer so tinkering around in code is something I am pretty good at doing. Also, I like being customer focused and have experience creating tutorials. So, as a user of Magento, I have started to create video tutorials covering topics which I have found frustrating.

The first tutorial is about how to turn on template path hints. WIth all of the great modularization the Magento development team has built in to Magento, I found figuring out what blocks turn on what feature, and which layout file they live in to be very confusing. The first step in clearing up that confusion was turning on template path hints. Here’s the link to the tutorial:

Text and Picture Tutorial

Video tutorial

If you have a request for a tutorial, please add a comment

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

RoyRubin
Administrator

Total Posts:  968
Los Angeles, CA

Looks great Steve!

http://www.magentocommerce.com/blog/comments/template-path-hints-tutorial-video/

Magento Community
Magento Community

Hobitnjak

Total Posts:  103
Sarajevo, Bosnia

stevewar - 25 May 2008 10:45 PM

Hi everyone,