Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 5 of 5
I changed the {{base url}} in the config and I can not revert it back
 
AttilaHooper
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2012-03-07
 

Editing the base URLs in the sql DB and deleting the magento var/cache helped me reconfigure the domain of my test server. Thanks for the tips !

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
adyballa
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2012-08-14
 

Better use this sql
UPDATE `core_config_data` SET `value` = Replace(Name, ‘old_base_url’, ‘new_base_url’)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WebDesignTampa
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2013-04-27
 

Hi Guys!

I followed the direction from chiefair and tribal druid. This for the initial help.

I changed my base URL and also clear cache. This solution solved by issue in changing by base URL from the IP test side to the actual domain name.

However, whenever I did all this… my <b>homepage is showing a 404 Not found</b> and only that works are my static pages.

See for yourself - http://www.wavewirecable.com

I can’t see any products due to this… Please help!

-------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Guys, I solved my own issue..

Under Default Pages, make sure that you also do not adjust the “Default Web URL” to your actual domain URL.
I changed it back to “cms” and it worked.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
keithbrown
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-08-27
 

Anyone know how to change the base link URL back? (Not base URL)

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
judduhre
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2014-02-24
 

I have changed the base url for secure & unsecure to http://www.hotels4humanity.com
I deleted all the tmp/magento/var/ cache & sessions files

now non of my tables or pictures show up… can anyone please help?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
judduhre
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2014-02-24
 
keithbrown - 08 July 2013 04:46 PM

Anyone know how to change the base link URL back? (Not base URL)

Thanks

if you read the rest of the quotes you will see its through your myphpadmin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sebaltou
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2013-12-29
 

Had the same problem for my secure base URL. The suggested solution worked like a charm: in the mySQL DB, table core_config_data, put back a valid URL value in web/secure/base_url and then delete everything in var/cache.

Just posting this to thank the guys who posted this solution

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
alucard001
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2012-04-19
 

I am sorry but that DB changes and removing var/cache directory only works part of it for me.

The key problem: I can ONLY make the home page work, all sub-pages and directory links are incorrect.

What I did:

- I download all the source code from another server (http://www.mywebsite.com)
- i deploy it on localhost as (localhost/magento)
- Follow the instructions to change the value in DB and delete cache folder (localhost)
- I changed .htaccess to have “RewriteBase /magento/”
- Front page displayed correctly, but when I click on other pages, it miss the ‘magento’ part, which means, “localhost/magento” become “localhost”

Can anyone please help on this?

Thank you in advance.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 5 of 5