Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

I changed the {{base url}} in the config and I can not revert it back
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 
Cbydesign - 23 October 2010 07:19 AM

I have the same problem. How do you clear / delete the var/cache files in the PhPAdmin?

You don’t through phpMyAdmin. These are deleted by using ftp to navigate to your var/cache folder and deleting all the subfolders. Or from the SSH command line.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

I changed Base Urls and my website is dead:

Open your core_config_data table in phpMyAdmin.

Find the following rows for your unsecure side, they should look like the following:

Replace http://www.mydomain.com with your appropriate domain and if you’ve installed in a subfolder append it with a / after it.

web/unsecure/base_url      http://www.mydomain.com/
web/unsecure/base_link_url         {{unsecure_base_url}}
web
/unsecure/base_skin_url       {{unsecure_base_url}}skin/
web/unsecure/base_media_url    {{unsecure_base_url}}media/
web/unsecure/base_js_url             {{unsecure_base_url}}js/

Find the following rows for your secure side, they should look like the following:

Replace http://www.mydomain.com with your appropriate domain and if you’ve installed in a subfolder append it with a / after it.

web/secure/base_url    https://www.mydomain.com/
web/secure/base_link_url       {{secure_base_url}}
web
/secure/base_skin_url      {{secure_base_url}}skin/
web/secure/base_media_url  {{secure_base_url}}media/
web/secure/base_js_url          {{secure_base_url}}js/

IF YOU HAVE SET YOUR BASE_URL correctly for each YOU DO NOT HAVE TO MESS AROUND WITH CHANGING THE {{UNSECURE_BASE_URL}} AND {{SECURE_BASE_URL}} MACROS in the rest of the entries. In reality, people only have to change two config records when the base_url gets messed up. And clear caches, sessions and reindex your URL_rewrite index after changing base_urls.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cbydesign
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2010-10-20
 

I have been battling with the cache. I have done everything to delete the cache and it is not working I have changed the base url as directed above @Chiefair and renamed the subfolder and everything and now look at the website

http://www.giftedchocolate.com

it is all broken and after 12 hours I give up. Each time I delete the cache in my FTP it creates the same cache and it was not doing this the other day.....Any Suggestions?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

It’s looking for the CSS files in the following location http://www.giftedchocolate.com/store/skin/frontend/template-help/default/css/* and cannot find them [404 error]

Is the location /store/skin/frontend/template-help/default/css/ the proper location where the CSS files are located?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cbydesign
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2010-10-20
 

Yes. There is a CSS folder there

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

Also, I’ve had the horses switched in mid-stream on me, the other thread had a wholly different base URL.

Is your current base URL set to http://www.giftedchocolate.com/store/ ?

It probably should be as I’m getting 404 on all the links and this would explain why, among other things, the skins directory and therefore your style sheets cannot be found. However, after doing the following:

If I enter http://www.giftedchocolate.com/skin/frontend/template-help/default/css/reset.css I can see your css file.

Try removing /store/ from the base URL and see if this -> http://www.giftedchocolate.com/ works.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cbydesign
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2010-10-20
 

I changed it....nothing shut eye

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cbydesign
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2010-10-20
 

Y O U are so nice!!!! I am so lucky to have found a magician! Thank you so much...it worked now I need to make sure I write this down LOL

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

No, you’ve got it, I’m seeing a pretty nice site over here.

Hold down CTL and press F5 to do a browser cache forced reload so it loads properly.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

WOOO HOOO!!!  cool grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Cbydesign
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  34
Joined:  2010-10-20
 

kiss  Y O U Rock!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tshw
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-01-20
 

for those as confused as me..
I am on linux platform… and the var/cache they are referencing is in the magento installation directory…
not /var/cache ...

hope this helps someone…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiefair
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1848
Joined:  2009-06-04
 

In other words off your Magento Root folder… The one Magento is installed in.

Which will be either in your webserver doc root or a subfolder thereof…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
bobbyonline
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2011-01-17
 
gefoon - 05 August 2008 11:55 PM

You can use change database in table core_config_data config id: 40 web/unsecure/base_url and put new value for it

I come from Thailand. Thank you so much..........

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mmay
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2009-03-03
 

I do not see web/unsecure/base_url in core_config_data table where is it missing? How do I change the base_url after migrating.

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top