Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How Can I change the magento logo and put banners? 
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

i wanna change the Magento logo. And i want to add another logo-

ALso i want to add banners in the center is possible?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iblastoff
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

try actually looking around the forum…

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewforum/16/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

I tried but it couldnt find one

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 

Josue4ever - 05 October 2007 09:44 AM

i wanna change the Magento logo…
want to add another logo…

FIRST save the original *logo.gif* image which you find in
magento > skin > frontend > default > default > images
with a different name
(for ex.: I save all originals with an ORIG_ prefix,
as in *ORIG_logo.gif*).

This is/maybe useful for general backup
and, later on, for eventual upgrading.

THEN change the name of your own logo image into *log.gif* and

FINALLY copy this new *logo.gif* of yours into the same place:
magento > skin > frontend > default > default > images

Refresh/reload your browser window and
your Magento homepage will show the new image,
your very own NEW logo grin ,
instead of the original Magento one.

Hope it’s clear enough.
.
Any senior coder:
please make corrections/additions above, as needed.
Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

thanks I will try, and i thought that that was the way, but now my other question is…

In he place in the middle Is posibble add diferent banners?

It must be an good idea put banners in the middle and magento can change automaticly. I mean, rotative banners.

i dont know if is posible, But if no is possible, i think that is a good idea.

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
WisdOMbooks
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  144
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kolkata (Calcutta) - INDIA
 
Josue4ever - 08 October 2007 04:54 PM

thanks I will try, and i thought that that was the way

IF you did think so
FIRST you should have tried it and
THEN ask the forum
with any eventual difficulty/problem.

This would have witnessed for your own personal effort
BEFORE asking for assistance from others.

Which encourages those very others
to continue to provide assistance
to those who, first, help themselves.

Please, don’t mind:
just simple / common / standard etiquette
valid for all forums.

ALL the BEST with your endeavours!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tomiro
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-11-06
 
WisdOMbooks - 08 October 2007 08:13 PM

Josue4ever - 08 October 2007 04:54 PM
thanks I will try, and i thought that that was the way

IF you did think so
FIRST you should have tried it and
THEN ask the forum
with any eventual difficulty/problem.

This would have witnessed for your own personal effort
BEFORE asking for assistance from others.

Seeing a few RTFM and “try it before bothering us” replies to inquiries will definitely help keep Magento from becoming too popular. Keep up the good work.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
Josue4ever - 08 October 2007 04:54 PM

In he place in the middle Is posibble add diferent banners?
It must be an good idea put banners in the middle and magento can change automaticly. I mean, rotative banners.
i dont know if is posible, But if no is possible, i think that is a good idea.

Thanks

Hi, everything is possible, but it’s unrealistic and unreasonable to expect Magento team to consider your needs for your special estore. It is your job to figure out how you want your site looks like and how to go about doing it. Note that if you simply replacing images and changing prices etc from the Magento default theme, you can achieve very little in terms of the looks and design. If you want to do more, the best option for you is to start modifying the CSS files and the PHTML files to add your customzied html blocks. If you are not up to the task, perhaps seeking help from a web designer is the best way to go.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Josue4ever
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  138
Joined:  2007-10-03
Mexico DF
 

Thanks man. I think is a good idea changing the banner about the page navigaton. Only changing the code and the image.

But my question was wrong. I asked for : If you visit my ste in this moment banner 1 appears “automaticly”
But, if you visit my site in the next 5 minutos (or days or weeks) banner 2 or 3 ... appears.

My question if is is posible make a “random banner” code and when must put it (the code must work in the first page)

Thanks and I hope that you understand me

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
Josue4ever - 14 November 2007 10:12 AM

But my question was wrong. I asked for : If you visit my ste in this moment banner 1 appears “automaticly”
But, if you visit my site in the next 5 minutos (or days or weeks) banner 2 or 3 ... appears.

My question if is is posible make a “random banner” code and when must put it (the code must work in the first page)

Thanks and I hope that you understand me

It’s possible, still, I think it’s unreasonable to expect Magento to provide it, because that is not a eCommerce feature, but rather, a design/layout decsion. Someday someone maybe writing a random image JS snippet for Magento, just as many other CMS users did. For now, I think if you really want it, you can look for a JS snippet from Hotscript site of the sort. Just google ‘random banner js code, I am sure you can find plenty.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iblastoff
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
Tomiro - 10 November 2007 09:27 AM


Seeing a few RTFM and “try it before bothering us” replies to inquiries will definitely help keep Magento from becoming too popular. Keep up the good work.

how about a few STFU’s your way as well smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top