Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Configurable products not pulling up single product SKU on checkout
 
katiek648
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-04-10
 

I have set up a configurable product based on 6 different single products. What I would like to happen is for the user to pick the size and color they want, then on checkout, it will pull up the the single product (with SKU) that they selected. Right now in the checkout process, it just displays the configurable product and its associated SKU.

We have to export orders into our financial software and it won’t be able to decipher which product the person wants by the configurable product SKU. It needs to show the exact single product SKU.

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
katiek648
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-04-10
 

Nevermind. I figured out that the SKU is recorded in the backend, it just does not show up in the customers cart, which is fine.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
AntonOlsen
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-05-19
 

A few of us have been reporting this bug for a while.

We feel that the simple product SKU should be indicated in the invoice, packing slip, and order detail pages.  Customers will be confused if they order 3 different sizes or colors of a product and see the same SKU 3 times on the invoice, and the shipping department will have trouble finding the right product if the simple sku isn’t on the packing slip.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/13936/
http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=2813

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

the single product sku from the configurable product doesn’t show with me. any suggestions???

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sales@synergymotolab.com
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-12-13
 

I’m also having the problem of associated product sku not appearing in the shopping cart. Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shuks
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2010-07-21
 

I NEED THIS FUNCTIONALLITY AS WELL!!!!

COME ON MAGENTO SERIOUSLY???

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jpk.in
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  160
Joined:  2009-08-12
Cochin, India
 

Try the below change in your checkout/cart/item/default.phtml template file

For calling SKU you can see below one in this file…

echo $_item->getSku()

Change this to below

if ($_options $this->getOptionList()) {
                           
echo $this->getChildProduct()->getSku();
                        
}
                        
else {
                              
echo $_item->getSku();
                        
}
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
shuks
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2010-07-21
 

That works great for the sku… But how do I get the quantity of each child item in the cart? it appears the quantity is saved under the parent product.

If i use…

$_item->getChildProduct()->getQty();

it returns 0 even though there are like 6 in my cart.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

I can’t seem to find :  echo $_item->getSku(…

I can only find echo $_item->getId or <?php $_item = $this->getItem()?>

The file I’m looking at is app/design/frontend/default/my_template/template/checkout/cart/item/default.phtml.
Is this correct?
thank you

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jpk.in
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  160
Joined:  2009-08-12
Cochin, India
 

The page you are looking is right one…
in default page there will not have $_item->getSku() , but you have to add it

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

Where exactly do I put this in the file?
Do I have to add
echo $_item->getSku()
if ($_options = $this->getOptionList()) {
echo $this->getChildProduct()->getSku();
}
else {
echo $_item->getSku();
}

I\’ve tried to add it on line 62 but I get nothing. see enclosed file

thanks
anne

Image Attachments
magento_error.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jpk.in
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  160
Joined:  2009-08-12
Cochin, India
 

Take your app/design/frontend/default/my_theme/template/checkout/cart/item/default.phtml file

Add below line of code where you wants to display the SKU

<?php
                        
if ($_options $this->getOptionList()){
                            
echo $this->getChildProduct()->getSku();
                            
                        
}
                        else{
                              
echo $_item->getSku();
                        
}
                        ?>

I think you missed php tag in your written code.. thats why it displays like your screenshot

<?php

Place your code here…

?>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

Thank you so much. I would need to show it in the admin as well so that i can pull out the ordr. Where would i put it?
I tried in the adminhtml/default/default/sales/order/view/items.phtml but it doesn’t work.

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

Thank you so much. I would need to show it in the admin as well so that i can pull out the ordr. Where would i put it?
I tried in the adminhtml/default/default/sales/order/view/items.phtml but it doesn\’t work.

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jpk.in
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  160
Joined:  2009-08-12
Cochin, India
 

Normally in admin side order details.. product SKU will be there…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
godiva
Member
 
Total Posts:  36
Joined:  2010-06-25
 

I tried, but when I try to put the code after sku, everything dissapears.
This how i put the code, but it doesn’t show the items nicely. It just adds all the individuals sku’s as duplicates above the box. I just like like to replace the config by the individual sku.

<?php $_items = $this->getItemsCollection() ?>
<?php $i=0;foreach ($_items as $_item):?>
<?php if ($_options = $this->getOptionList()){
echo $this->getChildProduct()->getSku();

}
else{
echo $_item->getSku();
}
?>
</br>
<?php if ($_item->getParentItem()) continue; else $i++;?>
<tbody class=”
<?php echo $i%2?'even':'odd' ?>">

<?php echo $this->getItemHtml($_item) ?>


</tbody>
<?php endforeach; ?>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2