Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 4
Admin & Frontend turned 404 Error after website change
 
daYmo
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-05-20
 

@Jennifer M : thanks for your answer, and that’s clear there’s something to fix in Mage, in the way that it has to find out the default view and has to be able to know and keep using the selected view. Something with Session ? something in the code to add ?

@everyone

I wanna play Jennifer M, but as you know my install soesn’t work properly ! But the more we have, the faster we’ll understand

In core_store I have:
store_id code website_id group_id name sort_order is_active
0 admin 0 0 Admin 0 1
1 english 1 1 English 0 1
3 default 1 1 Francais 0 1
4 allemand 1 1 German 0 1

In core_store_group I have:
group_id website_id name root_category_id default_store_id
0 0 Default 0 0
1 1 Main Website Store 2 1

My output is agin orst than yours but I’ll change it when i’ll have the time to.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
maijar
Member
 
Total Posts:  49
Joined:  2008-06-15
 

I’m new Magento user, and first thing I get after hard installation was that 404 problem.

Does the first video help at all, I mean, what’s that creating new folder to new websites? Though, in the video there’s older version of Magento I think. I can’t see any /magento/mainstore folders here…

http://www.magentocommerce.com/blog/comments/video-creating-multiple-online-storefronts-part1/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jennifer M
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  21
Joined:  2008-02-18
 

Thanks daYmo.  I must admit I’m none the wiser looking at that (so far), but maybe someone else will be!

I’ve just been looking on the bug report system.  This is Issue #4849 (it was there already).  I’ve put in a pointer from there to this thread.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
violetweb
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2008-07-11
 

I’m experiencing the same thing and I’m seriously disappointed.  Mainly, added a new main website and 404 error threw.  I removed and reinstalled everything, only to come back and try creating a new main website and it did it again.  As well there are other problems.  If I want to add a new category, I can’t edit an existing category—never lets me enter ‘edit’ mode.  I can in the magento demo online… cannot in my own installation of the product.  Are you sure this is stable?  I’m a little shocked that I’m experiencing this level of unstability; or is it just me?  Furthermore, it is the slowest interface I’ve ever experienced.  To make any change in the admin center takes approx. 30+ seconds to save.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pixelpusher
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  135
Joined:  2008-04-23
SoCal
 

having the same 404 error

`core_store`
store_id     code     website_id     group_id     name     sort_order     is_active
    0        admin         0            0       Admin           0             1
    1        
default       1            1       English         0             1

`core_store_group`
group_id     website_id     name     root_category_id     default_store_id
     0         0          
Default             0                   0
     1         1          Hero                3                   1

hope we can figure this out soon! Seems to me that the problem is entirely with the database. Has everyone with the problem been doing custom database work? Or has this happened to people creating stores within the backend?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hercilio Costa
Member
 
Total Posts:  59
Joined:  2008-07-15
 

I’m having the same issue. It happen after create a new website. I hope this could be solved soon.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
msmoon
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-06-21
 

Having same troubles here.  I did the Mage default fix and this is what I get when trying to get back in:

Notice: Use of undefined constant ’default’ - assumed ‘’default’’ in /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/index.php on line 40

Fatal error: Uncaught exception ‘Exception’ with message ‘Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/index.php:40) in /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/app/Mage.php on line 427’ in /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/functions.php:244 Stack trace: #0 /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/app/Mage.php(427): mageCoreErrorHandler(2, ‘Cannot modify h...’, ‘/home/cellar08/...’, 427, Array) #1 /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/index.php(40): Mage::run(’Location: /mage...’) #2 {main} thrown in /home/cellar08/public_html/magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/functions.php on line 244

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hercilio Costa
Member
 
Total Posts:  59
Joined:  2008-07-15
 

I have tryed another server and every thing work fine. In the first server I have tryed to reinstall Magento. The instalation was sucessfull but after create a website everything go 404 again. In the second server everything work perfectly.

Both servers are Linux.

The Server where magento fails have this config:

CentOS release 5.2
PHP Version 5.2.1 (more info in http://www.restauradoresdagranja.com/info.php )
MySQL client version: 5.0.45

I should have the configuration from the other server soon.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
SimpleHelixcom
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  906
Joined:  2007-08-31
Huntsville, AL
 

I do agree on this topic.
Just a simple error message stating the problem&solution;rather than a 404/500 error would be much more helpful.
I think it’s the little things we are kind of missing in Magento right now but I believe those are to come in time.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hercilio Costa
Member
 
Total Posts:  59
Joined:  2008-07-15
 
Hercilio Costa - 23 July 2008 01:54 PM

I have tryed another server and every thing work fine. In the first server I have tryed to reinstall Magento. The instalation was sucessfull but after create a website everything go 404 again. In the second server everything work perfectly.

Both servers are Linux.

The Server where magento fails have this config:

CentOS release 5.2
PHP Version 5.2.1 (more info in http://www.restauradoresdagranja.com/info.php )
MySQL client version: 5.0.45

I should have the configuration from the other server soon.

The other server where we tested magento and everything work well have this configuration:

- OS: Linux Debian lenny
- Apache: 2.2.9
- PHP: 5.2.6-2
- Mysql: 5.0.51

PHP Configuration

PHP Core

Directive Local Value Master Value
allow_call_time_pass_reference On On
allow_url_fopen On On
allow_url_include Off Off
always_populate_raw_post_data Off Off
arg_separator.input & &
arg_separator.output & &
asp_tags Off Off
auto_append_file /no value/ /no value/
auto_globals_jit On On
auto_prepend_file /no value/ /no value/
browscap /no value/ /no value/
default_charset /no value/ /no value/
default_mimetype text/html text/html
define_syslog_variables Off Off
disable_classes /no value/ /no value/
disable_functions /no value/ /no value/
display_errors On On
display_startup_errors Off Off
doc_root /no value/ /no value/
docref_ext /no value/ /no value/
docref_root /no value/ /no value/
enable_dl Off Off
error_append_string /no value/ /no value/
error_log /no value/ /no value/
error_prepend_string /no value/ /no value/
error_reporting 6135 6135
expose_php On On
extension_dir /usr/lib/php5/20060613+lfs /usr/lib/php5/20060613+lfs
file_uploads On On
highlight.bg #FFFFFF #FFFFFF
highlight.comment #FF8000 #FF8000
highlight.default #0000BB #0000BB
highlight.html #000000 #000000
highlight.keyword #007700 #007700
highlight.string #DD0000 #DD0000
html_errors On On
ignore_repeated_errors Off Off
ignore_repeated_source Off Off
ignore_user_abort Off Off
implicit_flush Off Off
include_path .:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear
.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear
log_errors Off Off
log_errors_max_len 1024 1024
magic_quotes_gpc On On
magic_quotes_runtime Off Off
magic_quotes_sybase Off Off
mail.force_extra_parameters /no value/ /no value/
max_execution_time 30 30
max_input_nesting_level 64 64
max_input_time 60 60
memory_limit 128M 128M
open_basedir /no value/ /no value/
output_buffering /no value/ /no value/
output_handler /no value/ /no value/
post_max_size 8M 8M
precision 12 12
realpath_cache_size 16K 16K
realpath_cache_ttl 120 120
register_argc_argv On On
register_globals Off Off
register_long_arrays On On
report_memleaks On On
report_zend_debug On On
safe_mode Off Off
safe_mode_exec_dir /no value/ /no value/
safe_mode_gid Off Off
safe_mode_include_dir /no value/ /no value/
sendmail_from /no value/ /no value/
sendmail_path /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i
serialize_precision 100 100
short_open_tag On On
SMTP localhost localhost
smtp_port 25 25
sql.safe_mode Off Off
suhosin.log.phpscript 0 0
suhosin.log.phpscript.is_safe Off Off
suhosin.log.phpscript.name /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.sapi /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.script /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.script.name /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.syslog /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.syslog.facility /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.syslog.priority /no value/ /no value/
suhosin.log.use-x-forwarded-for Off Off
track_errors Off Off
unserialize_callback_func /no value/ /no value/
upload_max_filesize 2M 2M
upload_tmp_dir /no value/ /no value/
user_dir /no value/ /no value/
variables_order EGPCS EGPCS
xmlrpc_error_number 0 0
xmlrpc_errors Off Off
y2k_compliance On On
zend.ze1_compatibility_mode Off Off

Could the problem appear from the differences between the servers?? What difference??

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Hercilio Costa
Member
 
Total Posts:  59
Joined:  2008-07-15
 

Problem solved in Magento 1.1.1

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
adebe
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2008-06-09
 

Magento 1.1.6 still have the same problem.

i managed a simple work around. i changed the default web store and save the new configuration. don’t try to delete the default web store. you will get the 404 page.

Alex

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Christian Gastrell
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-10-17
 

Ok, this is my second day with Magento 1.1.6, quite impressive i must say. I stumbled upon the very same problem of the 404 after changing the language and solved it after a couple of hours. First things first:

1. beware of the packages… i had 2 “corrupted” files that drove me mad:

app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Eav/Mysql4/Product/Attribute/Backend/Tierprice.php
app
/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Eav/Mysql4/Product/Type/Configurable/Attribute.php

came out of the tar.gz like this:

app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Eav/Mysql4/Product/Attribute/Backend/Tierprice.php0000664
app
/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Resource/Eav/Mysql4/Product/Type/Configurable/Attribute.php0000664

not one, but twice. Dunno why or how. This led to obvious errors. Beware of it just in case. Renaming them was just enough.

2. As i said, i came across with the 404 error after changing language. This is MY case, but i think it deserves to be observed. First i tried the Mage(’default’) fix which didn’t work. And then i realized a couple of things:
- go to CMS -> MANAGE PAGES : you’ll see Home is set FOR EACH store view instead of All Store Views. I think the All Store Views option should take less db usage so i changed it.
- go to SYSTEM -> MANAGE CACHE : you’ll see a little button which states: Catalog Rewrites REFRESH ... <- hit it.

After that (dunno if the first has anything to do with the error) everything went smooth. I don’t know if it is a malfunction or it’s my bad habit of canceling cache during development periods. Maybe when Cache is enabled Magento takes care of the rewrites refresh by its own.
To check it out go to CATALOG -> URL REWRITE MANAGEMENT. When i checked mine there were only rewrites for the default language.

HTH,

CG

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
BKK
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-09-08
 

EDIT: I just found out my problem was totally unrelated. I’m not sure what happened or I’d let you all know…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
DjiXas
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2009-01-05
 

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end, expecting T_STRING or T_VARIABLE or ‘$’ in /home//public_html/.com/index.php on line 53

When tried “solving code”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 4