Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Som serious menu problems
 
westlab
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-20
 

I have som serious menu problems! I have a default install of the newest magento. My Idea is to have some static content pages in the top menu and have my categories in the left column. Here is my questions.

How can I add link in top menu to my static content?´
I tried to create new pages with the CMS-tool but I cant find any way to add a link to top menu for the new page.

How can I make a menu of my categories in the left column?
I tired to edit some xml but I wont wrong. I dont know what to do!

How can I sort the order of the categories in menu?
I cant find the way to sort the menu.

How can I remove the “back to school” and “did you know?” images on left and right colum?
I must be any way to update these images or remove them.

I hope for some answers!

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
double02
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  28
Joined:  2007-12-08
Los Angeles, CA
 

Sort categories: admin>manage categories: drag and drop them into the order you want
Remove images: app/design/default/default/template/callouts: there are two files one for left, one for right

You should probably hire somebody to do the rest of the things on your list
http://www.magentocommerce.com/jobs

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
westlab
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-20
 
double02 - 19 May 2008 10:00 AM

Sort categories: admin>manage categories: drag and drop them into the order you want
Remove images: app/design/default/default/template/callouts: there are two files one for left, one for right

You should probably hire somebody to do the rest of the things on your list
http://www.magentocommerce.com/jobs

Thanks! It works fine!

You think I need someone to code it? There must be some way to publish the CMS-pages right? Sound strange…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yoke Lee
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  80
Joined:  2008-05-08
China - Singapore
 

How can I add link in top menu to my static content?´

try this :

<li><a href="<?php echo $this->getUrl('')?>"><?php echo $this->__('your_new_page') ?></a></li>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top