Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Automatic shipping quote displayed in the cart? 
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hello,

At the moment, we are only shipping within the UK, and are only using one shipping method.

Is there a way for the cart to automatically display/add the shipping charges to the total - as it is now, the user has to click on “Get a quote” first, and then “update total” - even if there is nothing to choose!

Thanks,
Lisa

smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
John
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  129
Joined:  2007-12-20
Sheffield, United Kingdom
 

Just solved this:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/6664/P15/

Regards
John

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hi John - many thanks for replying to my plea!

I am a bit confused though - and not a master coder! What file do I need to edit?

Thanks!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
John
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  129
Joined:  2007-12-20
Sheffield, United Kingdom
 

Hi - you need to create a new event.  This involves coding but is easy once you get you head round it.  There is a Wiki that describes how to create an event. 

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/customizing_magento_using_event-observer_method

Also this post:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/3459/

Regards
John

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Ho John,

Many thanks for your reply.

I have spent a couple of hours with the example in the tutorial and that seems to work.

Now, I am not sure how to implement your solution.

As per the tutorial for creating events -

Step 1 - Create a new attribute (OK- I can do that - same values as from the tutorial?)
Step 2 - Add this new attribute to your attributeset (OK- can do that do - but where do I assign it under?)
Step 3 - Register a new custom local module under name ‘Xyz’ (Do I just copy the same information as from the tutorial?)
Step 4 - Register the event with its Observer. Create file ‘config.xml’ under directory ‘app/code/local/Xyz/Catalog/etc/ (Same information/code here?)
Step 5 - Creating the Observer. Create the directory structure - app/code/local/Xyz/Catalog/Model/Price/. Place the php code below in a file by name ‘Observer.php’ in the directory just created. (I presume I would enter your code here instead of the sample one?)
Step 6 - Set the discount on the product (n/a here - but is there anything else to do?)

I know I am crap at this - but if could give me a hand, maybe I could make it work - and may you be showered with blessings if you can help!

All the best!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Anybody? Any suggestions on where to get started?

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Anybody? Please? :(

Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Sorry, gotta bump this - as I would really like to know how to do this.
Any help?
Thanks!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dan_w
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  290
Joined:  2008-01-04
 

Hi Lisa,
No promises, but I’ll look at this this weekend. We need the same thing. Just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Dan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

That would be great Dan - let us know if you figure it out!
Thanks so much!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lazzymonk
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  391
Joined:  2008-04-03
England
 

Im hoping to have this available as a module by the end of the weekend.

ill post the extension key when its done as it can take a few days for magento people to approve new modules.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Lazzymonk,

That would be AMAZING! Will you post here once it’s approved?

Many thanks!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lazzymonk
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  391
Joined:  2008-04-03
England
 

ill post it here before its approved. as soon as i add it, it will be available if you have the extension key. it just needs approving to show up in the magento connect listing.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lazzymonk
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  391
Joined:  2008-04-03
England
 

Ok done. A day earlier than planned.

here is the magneto connect extension key.

magento-community/mage_autoquote

it will hopefuly show up on magneto connect in the next few days when approved. but until then the extension key above will still work anyway.

any problems that you find let me know. ill fix them.

Enjoy.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hey Lazzymonk,

You’re a star!

I am just testing it now. Installed fine through Magento Connect. Showing up in Admin>>Config.

One small spelling mistake “Default Meathod” should be “Default Method”.

By the way, what should one put there if one is using table rate and not flat rate?

Many thanks!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lisali
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  889
Joined:  2008-04-28
London, UK
 

Hi,

I have now tried with my flat rate shipping just to see what happens. It does not seem to actually update the cart automatically with the shipping quote...Hmm…

Maybe I’m doing something wrong?

I thought that if enabled, it would automatically choose AND apply the chosen shipping method and add it to the total in the cart?

Lisa

EDIT: Had to disable table rate for that, now it seems to work! Will test some more!

Thank you!
Lisa

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2