Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

How to make basic changes - for new members of Magento

Princeanil

Total Posts:  28

Hi !

I’m new to Magento.  I’ve read the designers guide and have implemented a theme on my magento site. I can’t figure out many things that are not properly described in the designers guide so i seek help. I shall be regularly asking my questions here - so that this post becomes a resource for all new members.

The first set of questions :

1.  I want to move the shopping cart block from the right col to the left col - how do i do that ?

2.  I want to add my own callout to the right col below the community poll block - how do i do that ?

What i couldn’t understand from the designers guide - where are the content blocks placed in the layout xml ?

Thanks

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

toman01

Total Posts:  92

Answer to question 1.

Open up the checkout.xml file and change:

<reference name="right">
<block type="checkout/cart_sidebar" name="cart_sidebar" before="-" template="checkout/cart/sidebar.phtml"/>
</reference>

to:

<reference name="left">
<block type="checkout/cart_sidebar" name="cart_sidebar" before="-" template="checkout/cart/sidebar.phtml"/>
</reference>

Keep in mind that this change will make the shopping cart block display only in the left column and only if it is available. In other words, there are pages such as the product view pages which only have a right column and thus the shopping cart block would not display.

Now to question 2.