Magento Forum

how to display category top nav menu
 
xiaolin
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-05-04
 

i installed lastest magento version (without the sample data package) , i created some categories and products aslo but the category top nav menu is not there like (demo.magentocommerce.com)

May i forget something?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xiaolin
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-05-04
 

anyone knows?
i mean the menu: furniture - electronics - apparel

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
aquiss
Member
 
Total Posts:  54
Joined:  2008-05-03
United Kingdom
 

I must admit, i’m having the exact same problem.

I’ve added a couple of categories to the admin side of things, which are both set to “is Active = Yes”, and added a couple of test products to both to be sure, and these also active (which can be search for with no problems).

The code in top.phtml (as shipped with the download) is as below, which you will see also includes the extra Home link, that correctly appears where I would expect. The foreach loop for the categories however failed to produce anything.

<div class="header-nav-container">
    <
div class="header-nav">
        <
h4 class="no-display"><?php echo $this->__('Category Navigation:'?></h4>
        <
ul id="nav">

        <!-- 
HOME BUTTON HACK -->
        <
li><a href="<?=$this->getUrl('')?>">Home</a></li>
        <!-- 
HOME BUTTON HACK -->

        
<?php foreach ($this->getStoreCategories() as $_category): ?>
            <?php 
echo $this->drawItem($_category?>
        <?php 
endforeach ?>
        
</ul>
    </
div>
    
<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('topLeftLinks'?>
</div>

Does something in the admin side of things need to be activated to make them display?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xiaolin
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-05-04
 

yes im new with magento and little confused too. i set up another site with sample data package and the menu works. so maybe there’s a difference between them, missing a block or something in the admin side. im investigating 2 sites to find the difference but at least i hope someone can point me out

Thank you

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
aquiss
Member
 
Total Posts:  54
Joined:  2008-05-03
United Kingdom
 

xiaolin,

Ok i just found the cure, but i have to agree it’s not very clear with any of documents I have found, though I suspect there will be coders logic to it when we both get to understand it all.

It appears that categories listed on the very top layer don’t display, but if you add one “inside” a top level one, then all becomes revealed on the web site.

ie (root cat. not displayed) -> (person, displayed) -> (male/female, displayed inside person)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Hi there! Do you notice there is a search available on the left top corner?  wink If you do that, you probably find the answer quicker than waiting for someone to reply.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4758/P15/
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5938/
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5111/P0/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
aquiss
Member
 
Total Posts:  54
Joined:  2008-05-03
United Kingdom
 

To be fair chinesedream I have, but like all good searches, they only work if your know what your looking for.

I used various terms, but nothing jumped out at me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xiaolin
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-05-04
 
aquiss - 05 May 2008 12:07 AM

xiaolin,

Ok i just found the cure, but i have to agree it’s not very clear with any of documents I have found, though I suspect there will be coders logic to it when we both get to understand it all.

It appears that categories listed on the very top layer don’t display, but if you add one “inside” a top level one, then all becomes revealed on the web site.

ie (root cat. not displayed) -> (person, displayed) -> (male/female, displayed inside person)

Aquiss

Thanks for pointing me out. Im doing that

i created a top category and then drag and drop to move my categories into it but it seems the ajax feature doesnt work. it loads and never finish . not sure why magento is slow (the admin side) (i have xampp and windows vista premium)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xiaolin
Member
 
Total Posts:  47
Joined:  2008-05-04
 
aquiss - 05 May 2008 12:14 AM

To be fair chinesedream I have, but like all good searches, they only work if your know what your looking for.

I used various terms, but nothing jumped out at me.

totally agree with you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

I searched “how to display category on top nav menu” and “categories not showing up”, and the above three links are in the results. So if you include the keywords you are having trouble with, there is no way they won’t show up.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ankush Sharma
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2009-03-02
 

Hey
My problem is a bit different..

Categories are displaying at the top navigation bar. But i want to display at the left side . How we can change the display setting of categories

Image Attachments
categories.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
stavroch
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2012-06-04
 

I can see only the home link the categories are not showing. Why?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
its4net
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2013-10-31
 

This has been answered in this thread http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5938/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MagikSwapna
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  97
Joined:  2010-12-14
 

Hello,

Check your categories are under root or default category.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top