Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Attempting to add structural block and content block. Please help

Bimmerhead

Total Posts:  30
Atlanta, GA

I’m relatively new to Magento and I’ve spent the last few weeks reading this forum and wiki to grasp a better understanding of the software. However I’m failing to clearly understand some of the concepts and hope someone can help remove the confusion.

I need to create a new structural block positioned between the content and footer blocks and in this block a content block intended to display specific products which initially will be hard-coded. So far this is what I have.

In page.xml I added

<block type="core/text_list" name="specials" as="specials"/>

then in my current theme; 1column.phtml I added:

<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('specials'?>
to the existing code, resulting in:
<div class="col-main">

<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('global_messages'?>
        <?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('content'?>

<?php 
echo $this->getChildHtml('specials'?>

</div>

Now at this point my confusion begins. I then created a file named specials.xml and placed in the catalog/product folder as follows:

<reference name="specials">
    <
block type="catalog/product/specials" name="specials" />
        <
div class="page-title">
             <
strong><?php echo $this->__('Monthly Specials'?></strong>
        </
div>
</
reference>

But when I display the page I don’t see my block.

Incidentally I’m using Magento ver. 1.3.2.4 and turned off the cache, turned on Template Path Hints and Block Names.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Magento Community Magento Community