Magento Forum

   
Page 15 of 15
Vertical category menu
 
Mosses Akizian
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  176
Joined:  2009-04-28
Los Angeles, CA
 
GavinYu - 11 August 2010 05:24 PM


Any idea/way for us can do this drop-down menu or i need to add any code or disable any code to let the sub-menu on the top level??

Add z-index attribute with high positive number to your navigation menu css id or class. e.g. z-index=1000.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
norbertwarne
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2010-10-13
 

So...any estimates what may be wrong? I don’t know if I realized right how I am imagined to call/reference/declare this boxes and then output them....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Quaeso
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  334
Joined:  2010-04-03
 
magentoj - 01 October 2009 02:16 PM

First download extension:

magento-community/RicoNeitzel_VertNav

(Vertical Navigation - drop in replacement for the horizontal top navigation.)

Then open:
/public_html/app/design/frontend/default/default/layout/vertnav.xml

comment out the marked three lines if you want to keep the top menu

Then you have the sidebar and the top bar!

Hi magentoj,

I need a sidebar and a top bar. My sidebar is created with RicoNeitzel_VertNav. So your tip could perhaps help me. Can you explain again please. My english isn´t good so I don´t quite understand what you mean.

here the code

<layout version="0.1.0">

    <default>

        <
reference name="head">

                <
action method="addItem"><type>skin_css</type><name>css/vertnav.css</name></action>

        </
reference>

        <
reference name="top.menu">

                        <
action method="unsetChild" ifconfig="catalog/vertnav/hide_top"><name>catalog.topnav</name></action>

        </
reference>

        <
reference name="left">

            <
block type="vertnav/navigation" name="catalog.vertnav" template="vertnav/left.phtml" before="-" />

        </
reference>

    </default>



        <
customer_account>

                <
reference name="left">

                        <
action method="unsetChild"><name>catalog.vertnav</name></action>

                </
reference>

        </
customer_account>



        <
catalog_category_default>

                <
reference name="left">

                        <
action method="unsetChild"><name>catalog.leftnav</name></action>

                </
reference>

        </
catalog_category_default>



        <
catalog_category_layered>

                <
reference name="catalog.leftnav">

                        <
action method="unsetChild"><name>category_filter</name></action>

                </
reference>

        </
catalog_category_layered>

</
layout>

thanks in advance

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
GrantG182
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2010-07-02
 

Hi

I have added the following code to my catalog.xml and page.xml to get a category menu to appear in the left-hand column.

<reference name="left">
        <
block type="catalog/navigation" name="catalog.leftnavig" before="-" template="catalog/navigation/leftnav.phtml"/>
            <
block type="core/template" name="left.permanent.callout" template="callouts/left_col.phtml">
                <
action method="setImgSrc"><src>images/media/contact.jpg</src></action>
                <
action method="setImgAlt" translate="alt" module="catalog"><alt>Click here to Contact Us</alt></action>
                <
action method="setLinkUrl"><url>http://www.domain.com/contacts/</url></action>
            
</block>
        </
reference>

And in catalog/navigation/leftnav.phtml

<div class="block block-leftnav">
<
div class="block-title"><strong><span><?php echo $this->__('Shop Categories'?></span></strong></div>
<
div class="block-content">
        <
ul id="leftnav">
         <!-- 
HOME BUTTON HACK -->

        
<?php $_anyActive false; foreach ($this->getStoreCategories() as $_category{ $_anyActive $_anyActive || $this->isCategoryActive($_category); } ?>
        
<li class="home <?php echo !$_anyActive ? 'active' : '' ?>"><a href="<?php echo $this->getUrl('')?>"><span><?php echo $this->__('Home'?></span></a></li>
        <!-- 
HOME BUTTON HACK -->
        
<?php foreach ($this->getStoreCategories() as $_category): ?>
            <?php 
echo $this->drawItem($_category?>
        <?php 
endforeach ?>
        
</ul>
       </
div
</
div>

However, the problem I am having is that on Pages (CMS Pages), the Category list displays as I would expect. However, on Category pages, the category list appears below the shopping options.

How can I move the Category menu to show above the shopping options? I am guessing the ‘before="-”’ has something to do with it, but I’m relatively new to Magento and haven’t dabbed around with the template system too much.

Can anyone help? Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
time2php
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2011-09-02
 

I appreciate the Joe explanation on first page and finally decided to write something that ll help all of us to resolve category menu in left hand side problem

http://www.time2php.com/tag/magento-left-side-category-navigation

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/14709/#t347976

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lq031052
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2011-08-31
 
Spek - 16 January 2008 11:49 AM

YoavKutner - 11 November 2007 10:06 PM
We should add more Magento design packages early next year.

Thanks

yoav

I’m just wondering if this feature is available yet in the latest version? Or would a design package be a seperate download? If so, where? I haven’t run into any so far and I’m wondering if I’m missing something. I was able to cook up a basic working version but I would like to start with the added functionality you’ve mentioned.

A quick overview of how I did this in 0.7.14800:

cut the following from app/design/frontend/default/default/template/page/html/header.phtml

<?=$this->getChildHtml('topMenu')?>

paste it into app/design/frontend/default/default/template/page/3colums.phtml

<div class="col-left side-col">
                
<?=$this->getChildHtml('store')?>
                <?
=$this->getChildHtml('left')?>
                <?
=$this->getChildHtml('topMenu')?>
                                
&nbsp;
            </
div>

in app/design/frontend/default/default/layout/page.xml

move the following at around line 40:

<block type="core/text_list" name="top.menu" as="topMenu"/>

to about line 47 (where the left block is):

<block type="core/text_list" name="left" as="left"/>
            <
block type="core/text_list" name="top.menu" as="topMenu"/>

That should do it, but you will notice that the CSS for the navigation is purely for a horizontal layout.

Some quick changes you can make in app/skin/frontend/infinite/default/css/menu.css at about line 35

this:

#nav li { float:left; }

to his:

#nav li { float:none; }

This will put the categories below eachother. Remember though that I just made these changes real quick, not to be used in a live environment, so it doesn’t look good, and it might very well not work as expected.
Subcategories for instance, are shown ontop of the other categories when you hover over a category with subcategories, and there’s something wrong with the z-index, making the subcategories appear below the center column, giving them a cut-off look. These problems shouldn’t be difficult to solve in the menu.css file.

i have do this as you said,it’s almost ok.
But could you tell me how to solve “the cut-off look” in CSS.it’s difficult to me,tks!

Image Attachments
13434.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vjtemplates
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  408
Joined:  2010-12-15
Washington, USA
 

It’ll be much easier to help if you can provide the URL. You just need to take a look at the margin property of the first level li.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tusher Khan
Member
 
Total Posts:  66
Joined:  2011-01-07
 

You can easily make Accordion Menu for your vertical layered-navigation.

Here is a simple way to do that:

http://www.xpressbangla.com/create-accordion-menu-for-magento-layered-navigation/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
salimsazzad
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2011-07-02
 

You can easily add category menu on your sidebar just following the link :

http://www.salimsazzad.com/how-to-show-all-category-on-magento-left-sidebar

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
abhimask2005
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2012-05-22
 

Hi,

Want to add the left side navigation menu..?

Here is the nice left side navigation extension with different types of styles..
http://www.magentocommerce.com/magento-connect/left-navigation-package-6127.html

grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top
Page 15 of 15