Magento Forum

   
Page 1 of 2
PHP4 Installation - Can’t seem to get it to work
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

After several hours of trying to get the PHP4 fix to work on my MediaTemple (dv) server, I’m hoping this isn’t a super easy fix so I don’t look like a jackass.

Anyways, here’s the situation:

- Installed Magento in the root directory of my server (httpdocs)
- Changed all the file permissions as directed
- Uploaded the php5-cgi file into my cgi-bin directory (same level as httpdocs)
- Created the database
- Updated the .htaccess file within httpdocs from:

php_flag magic_quotes_gpc off
php_flag short_open_tag on

DirectoryIndex index
.php

RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_URI} !^/media/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/skin/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/js/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-l

RewriteRule 
.* index.php

to

php_flag magic_quotes_gpc off
php_flag short_open_tag on

Action php5
-cgi /cgi-bin/php5-cgi 
AddHandler php5
-cgi .php

DirectoryIndex index
.php

RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_URI} !^/media/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/skin/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/js/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond 
%{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-l

RewriteRule 
.* index.php

All that results in is:

Not Found

The requested URL /cgi-bin/php5-cgi/index.php was not found on this server.
Apache/2.0.52 (CentOS) Server at http://www.thedailydailyshow.com Port 80

I gotta take a break from this for a bit.  Getting exhausted.

Anyone been able to get this to work?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Which URL are you requesting in the browser?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

It’s on one of my spare domains:

http://www.thedailydailyshow.com

Magento is installed directly in the root of that domain (httpdocs) not a subfolder.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Looks like you do not have php5-cgi in your cgi-bin folder or your apache installation points to different folder…

http://www.thedailydailyshow.com/cgi-bin/php5-cgi

The link above suppose to show Error 500, when php5-cgi is available there.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

It is in there.  Here’s how it looks on my ftp:

Top level

cgi-bin folder

Root where Magento is located

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

It is possible that your apache virtual hots configuration points to different folder in it’s cgi-bin alias....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Okay.  I’ll give MediaTemple a call now and see if they know where it points to.

Update in a bit.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

Travis, I’ve got MT. Here’s another trick to getting PHP5 support with Media Temple:

http://kb.mediatemple.net/article.php?id=244

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

Actually that’s for the Grid Server (gs). Which may be helpful to some. You mentioned (dv) though.

For Dedicated Virtual (dv) check here:

http://kb.mediatemple.net/article.php?id=260

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Thanks Scott.

That’s exactly what their tech support directed me to.

I’ve never done a php upgrade so I really don’t have a clue what I’m doing. 

Trying it through the Secure Shell Terminal in Plesk right now.  Is this how you did it?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Scott,
Any chance you could chat for a couple minutes?  The php upgrade went nowhere with me and MT’s difficult instructions.

I can pop on Skype, gtalk, or any of the others if you have a sec.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Scott
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  333
Joined:  2007-08-31
Northwest Ohio
 

I’ve got a couple minutes to spare. See your PM wink
Can’t stay long though!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

I had the pleasure of chatting with Scott for a bit, and he’s kind enough to lend me a hand tomorrow evening.

When I’m (we’re) able to get it to work, I’ll try and document the steps for any other Magento users that may be using a DV 3.0 server on MediaTemple.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
RoyRubin
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  968
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles, CA
 

Travis - if you can, please enter a wiki article for this. I am sure many other users will appreciate it smile

Thanks smile

Roy

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Will do Roy.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Travis
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  125
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Yes, and for anyone on a Grid Server at Media Temple, they DO seem to be up to date with PHP.  We host one of our sites on a GS and having looked at the specs, it’s using PHP Version 5.2.2.

Unfortunately, they said they don’t have any plans to upgrade the Dedicated servers anytime soon.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top
Page 1 of 2