Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Site coming up not secure occasionally
 
scitadel
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2008-12-11
 

Hi there;

Okay, I’ve got a bit of a problem.  Occasionally clients have called in and indicated that the site is either ‘not secure’ or ‘not safe’ (this from a recent customer who had MacAffee running).  However, I can’t seem to replicate this at all using Mozilla or Firefox.  The https is obviously working, I’ve tested and we get a lot of orders from customers still so it’s obviously not showing up for everyone.  It’s somehow some configuration / combination on certain customers that is showing this up.

The site is Starlit Citadel (http://www.starlitcitadel.com).

Anyone have the same problem or able to replicate this?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Incognito
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-08-07
Michigan
 

I think it is an ie issue.  If you have a picture on the https page that uses a http url it will show a warning.  Make sure that all the urls for pictures and external files are using a https url on the secure pages.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ShopMagCart
Member
 
Total Posts:  70
Joined:  2009-01-04
 
scitadel - 28 November 2009 01:59 PM

Hi there;

Okay, I’ve got a bit of a problem.  Occasionally clients have called in and indicated that the site is either ‘not secure’ or ‘not safe’ (this from a recent customer who had MacAffee running).  However, I can’t seem to replicate this at all using Mozilla or Firefox.  The https is obviously working, I’ve tested and we get a lot of orders from customers still so it’s obviously not showing up for everyone.  It’s somehow some configuration / combination on certain customers that is showing this up.

The site is Starlit Citadel (http://www.starlitcitadel.com).

Anyone have the same problem or able to replicate this?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

I’ve run into this same exact problem in the past with a GoDaddy SSL certificate.  I and my host tried reinstalling the certificate multiple times per GoDaddy’s instructions (and confirmation of steps from GoDaddy technical support) without any luck. 

I read somewhere that since GoDaddy does not issue you a root level certificate, there maybe intermittent problems.  So I switched to a Geotrust certificate and no problems after 1 year.  I don’t know if that was the real problem, but it resolved my headache.  I would look into a company that offers root level certificates.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
M i c h a
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-09-07
Netherlands
 

When you go to the ssl page and the cerificate is not show, check then the source page and search for http:
Just look for pictures, links, banners, external things. Most of all it’s a external link who is not running ssl.
Fix this link and you will see that ssl is working.

MiC

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Incognito
Guru
 
Total Posts:  322
Joined:  2008-08-07
Michigan
 
MiC2005 - 27 January 2010 02:29 PM

Fix this link and you will see that ssl is working.
MiC

?? ssl should have been working the entire time.  The warning appears because there are objects on the page that didn’t come from a secure connection.

If the url has https:// and no server error message(ex Secure Connection Failed) ssl is working.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Gui
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  588
Joined:  2008-03-09
 

Incognito is right, check for images or javascripts that are loaded on the page using a non-secure protocal ie http://

Also Mozilla/FF will probably only show the unlocked icon and the address will not turn blue. I have not found a good way in FF to track down the issues. For some reason Internet Explorer is better for that

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top