Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
3 columns layout problem. 
 
Mich81.com
Member
 
Total Posts:  55
Joined:  2008-04-14
 

Hello everybody,

My magento 1.0 has a design error using Internet Explorer.
When I installed it everything was ok, but after installing and uninstalling Modern Theme, the products cell on the category grid view, underlay the compare box. See image attached.
The strange think is that only on IE I’m having this problem.
If i browse the same pages with Opera, Safari or Firefox I can’t see any visualization problem.
Also I’m having this problem only in the default view. I after add a new store view with a different language and this is showing correctly also in IE.

Someone can Help Me?
Thanks in advance.

Image Attachments
vISUALIZATION_PROBLEM.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiaraweb
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  721
Joined:  2008-03-21
Aviano ~ Italy
 

Maybe you can delete the cache of the store, try to disable it also.

If Firefox works correctly I think that the folder default it’s ok, but if you have a trouble try to upload a new css folder, the problem you see is in css file I think wink

Good Luke

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mich81.com
Member
 
Total Posts:  55
Joined:  2008-04-14
 

Hello Chiara, thank you very much for your answer.
I Changed all the css in the magento\skin\frontend\default\default\css, but nothing changed.
Are those the css you were talking about or did you refer to other?

Thank you very much.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiaraweb
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  721
Joined:  2008-03-21
Aviano ~ Italy
 
Mich81.com - 22 April 2008 06:05 AM

Hello Chiara, thank you very much for your answer.
I Changed all the css in the magento\skin\frontend\default\default\css, but nothing changed.
Are those the css you were talking about or did you refer to other?

Thank you very much.

Yes the folder is correct
If default folder (entire) is original and firefox shows the shop correct the problem is in your cache

Magento has a cache to speed up download time, when you work on design you must turn off cache management in backend.
Have you clear the cache?

admin -> configuration -> cache management

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mich81.com
Member
 
Total Posts:  55
Joined:  2008-04-14
 

Hi chiara,
I try to disable the cache.
I went to Sistem > cache management and I tick all the check box on the page.
After that i click Disable.
Now everithing is disabled, but nothing change.
I also delete the cache of IE7 and restart Apache.

Nothing change.
Have you other Ideas?
Consider that English store view works perfect and has same setings.

Thanks in advance

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
chiaraweb
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  721
Joined:  2008-03-21
Aviano ~ Italy
 

are you in local or you have a link to see?

modern theme was installed from backend or manually? I’ve seen any design pack and the file are in skin and app folder

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mich81.com
Member
 
Total Posts:  55
Joined:  2008-04-14
 

Hello chiara,
I’m working local with xampp on my windows Xp Professional machine.
I installed modern theme using Magento Connect.
So I can’t provide you a web link for the site.
I compare the two HTML file of the pages in italian (wrong visualization) and in English (right visualization) and they look identic.

I hope the problem won’t appear when I will upload on the Server.
Tonight I will look at changes on the APP folder.

Thank you very much for your help.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mayerwin
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-01-15
France
 

Hello Chiara,

I am experiencing exactly the same problem with Internet Explorer 7. The gris is not adjusted to the available width. I even have that problem with http://demo.magentocommerce.com/electronics/laptops.

Have a try! I deleted all my cache (including cookies) but it didn’t change anything at all.

So I suppose this should be the same on any computer. Can you confirm?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Dunno if i am too late for help, but you might want to change the button text from “Aggiungi al Carrello” into “Acquista”.

A shorter text string will keep the html table healty. If you still want to keep the original string you should display it in a single row.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
All Bijoux
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  22
Joined:  2008-05-04
 

ummh same problem. Firefox perfect, Explorer wrong with grid view:

http://www.allbijoux.com/shop/catalog/category/view/mode/grid/id/29/

Arghhh smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Tyr adding

.form-button, .form-button-alt { width:1pt}
to skin/..../iestyles.css
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ata Asgari
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-16
Dubai, UAE
 
Moshe - 22 May 2008 11:13 AM

Tyr adding

.form-button, .form-button-alt { width:1pt}
to skin/..../iestyles.css

I have the same issue, adding css style fixed the issue and caused another one!
Please see the attached screenshot.

Thanks

Image Attachments
IE7-Issue.gif
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

adding ‘width: 1px’ to form-button will make the button to 1px, what you are seeing now is correct as this is what you asked it to do.

Try adding width to the table instead and it should make IE behaves
The product grid table code shows this: <table cellspacing="0" class="generic-product-grid" id="product-list-table">

that means you can declare the width in ‘generic-product-grid’ or ‘product-list-table’.

However in the magento default css, it already has :
.generic-product-grid { width:100%; }

This normally should works for IE too, but I suspect somewhere a ‘clear:both’ isn’t followed after a floated element thus causing the table expands 100% in IE.

What you can do is to change the
.generic-product-grid { width:500px; } for instance.
if you prefer to keep the 100% in the main style sheet, simply add the above code to the ‘iestyles.css’.

Remember to change back the original width for .form-button, .form-button-alt

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ata Asgari
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-16
Dubai, UAE
 
chinesedream - 25 May 2008 03:31 AM

adding ‘width: 1px’ to form-button will make the button to 1px, what you are seeing now is correct as this is what you asked it to do.

Try adding width to the table instead and it should make IE behaves
The product grid table code shows this: <table cellspacing="0" class="generic-product-grid" id="product-list-table">

that means you can declare the width in ‘generic-product-grid’ or ‘product-list-table’.

However in the magento default css, it already has :
.generic-product-grid { width:100%; }

This normally should works for IE too, but I suspect somewhere a ‘clear:both’ isn’t followed after a floated element thus causing the table expands 100% in IE.

What you can do is to change the
.generic-product-grid { width:500px; } for instance.
if you prefer to keep the 100% in the main style sheet, simply add the above code to the ‘iestyles.css’.

Remember to change back the original width for .form-button, .form-button-alt

Thanks,

Tried your solution, but nothing changed so I’ve changed it back to default.

you can check the demo shop here : http://zhino.com

Thanks again

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

It doesn’t work because class/id names for your table are different

<table cellspacing="0" class="recently-list" id="recently-compared-list-table">

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ata Asgari
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-04-16
Dubai, UAE
 
chinesedream - 25 May 2008 05:23 AM

It doesn’t work because class/id names for your table are different

<table cellspacing="0" class="recently-list" id="recently-compared-list-table">

I didn’t changed anything, It’s magento’s default, it’s same in other themes like modern, linen,…

So how to fix it?

It is working just fine using Opera and Firefox 2.0

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2