Magento Forum

   
Upgrade from 1.3.1 to 1.8
 
Robertan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2013-10-21
 

I have taken on the job of editing a site using Magento 1.3.1 and miss the WYSIWYG editor for new pages and other enhancements so I would like to upgrade.

I am very familiar with other formats such as CSCart and Cube Cart so I am not a noob to php.  Can I upgrade without losing the information and the site?  Where would I find instructions if they exist to get this done?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
giggi91
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  227
Joined:  2012-02-09
 

Hello Guy, if you want upgrade a Magento site it is not necessary that you have a good Knowledge of Php.
You must go in your backend and in the section “System” you can see a voice call Magento Connect.
After you enter in Magento Connect area you must only press check for upgrades.
Bye

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Robertan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2013-10-21
 

Thanks for the reply but when I try to connect I get:

Unknown error (8192): Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/downloader/pearlib/php/PEAR/Frontend.php on line 91
Trace:
#0 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/lib/Varien/Pear.php(28): mageCoreErrorHandler(8192, ‘Assigning the r...’, ‘/var/www/vhosts...’, 91, Array)
#1 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/lib/Varien/Pear.php(28): require_once()
#2 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/lib/Varien/Pear/Package.php(3): require_once(’/var/www/vhosts...’)
#3 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/controllers/Extensions/LocalController.php(28): require_once(’/var/www/vhosts...’)
#4 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Standard.php(302): include(’/var/www/vhosts...’)
#5 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Standard.php(281): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->_inludeControllerClass(’/var/www/vhosts...’, ‘Mage_Adminhtml_...’)
#6 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Standard.php(195): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->_validateControllerClassName(’Mage_Adminhtml’, ‘extensions_loca...’)
#7 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Front.php(158): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Standard->match(Object(Mage_Core_Controller_Request_Http))
#8 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/app/Mage.php(457): Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Front->dispatch()
#9 /var/www/vhosts/diannebbest.com/httpdocs/index.php(53): Mage::run()
#10 {main}

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
MagenX
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  791
Joined:  2008-05-26
Dublin
 

obviously you have to know that:
- magento 1.3 has a lot of limitations and deprecated files/code
- your theme and custom code wont work anymore
- all your manually loaded extensions must be upgraded via ftp
- If something goes wrong, your database and your site is easy to become garbage
- if you have many custom code and modules you definitely have to enable full pdo debug output
- also first you have to upgrade to 1.4, then to 1.8

cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Robertan
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2013-10-21
 

Thank you so much for your reply.  It is very helpful.  I was able to get rid of the error by using the PHP 5.3 fix.

Your statements about version 1.3.1 and upgrading are exactly what i was thinking so I’m anticipating installing a new instance in a test directory and editing that way.  If my client will pay for it.

Version 1.3.1 is rudimentary and the site hasn’t been changed since it was installed I think in 2004 by someone else.  It is very custom with pages generated not in the Admin side but by .php files in the root so there is no WYSIWYG opportunity at all except edit via FTP and check in real time in browsers.

The site is located at diannebbest.com

The home page, shop page and all the product pages are .php hard coded.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top