Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Remove the French and German Stores completely? 
 
Maff
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2007-09-03
Yorkshire, UK
 

Hi!

I don’t need the French and German stores but don;t know how to safely get rid of them!

Cheers.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Maff
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2007-09-03
Yorkshire, UK
 

No offers?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
busybrain
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2007-10-21
 

just downloaded magento yesterday… still experimenting.. best part is i donno much of php also smile anyway, was looking for the same thing…

finally got the approach…

Log onto http://localhost/magento/admin/

Configuration -> left side top you find the default config -> drop down and select the store you want to remove…

press Edit store button below

you find delete store button towards right top…

...

however, IT DID NOT DELETE.... then i tried disabling it.. it also did not work… hoping to get an answer in the forum soon…

Btw, GREAT product!!! i was searching for such a solution for past few months…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
YoavKutner
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  491
Joined:  2007-08-08
 

Disabling the stores should have removed them from the select in the footer. This is a bug that will be fixed and released over the next few releases.

thanks

yoav

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
harjot
Member
 
Total Posts:  61
Joined:  2007-11-13
 

Its still not fixed. Cant you just delete the store from mysql database. How would you delete a store. Please smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pecq
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  26
Joined:  2007-11-06
 

@harjot:

i know its not a solution but i am too an indian thus love to help u from folder

“l/app/design/frontend/default/default/template/page/html”

in footer.phtml

i removed the block of code

<div class="informational">
<?=$this->getChildHtml()?>
</div>

and it helped me also customer service and about us link too removed smile

anand

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
charlesrg1
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2007-11-29
 

According to what I’ve read, the right place to change is : app/design/frontend/default/default/layout/core/default.xml
There you can remove the block:
<block type="core/store_switcher" name="store_switcher">
<action method="setTemplate"><template>core/stores.phtml</template></action>
</block>

So this way you can still add more information in the footer by changing the layout.  Let’s say for example you want to add a Currency Change in the footer, you can still do that.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top