Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Google Checkout - Carrier Calculated shipping problem [semi-solved]
 
proteinshake
Member
 
Total Posts:  42
Joined:  2008-05-12
 
mikefifield - 10 June 2008 09:06 AM

@ Serge

I keep getting the following error in my google integration consol:

“URL you are using for merchant calculations is not valid or is not https http://www.rawjuicers.com/googlecheckout/api/—the error we got is: An HTTPS URL is required”

My shipping is set to “Carrier Calculated” but keeps showing all $0 as the cost for shipping. How can I get the Carrier Calculated setting to work correctly?

I am getting that error too after I went live. I was testing around to find the source of the problem and in System>Config>Web>Unsecure I changed the unsecure URL to my Secure URL and it correctly calculated my shipping without any errors from the integration console. I tried the hack you did to the checkout.php file and it didn’t work for me. Did you ever find a solution?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Azkul
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined:  2008-01-10
 

This is slightly off topic, but does Magento support Google Checkout level 2 integration or is it still using level 1?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
RoyRubin
Enthusiast
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  968
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles, CA
 

Level 2

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mikefifield
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  49
Joined:  2008-05-24
 

@proteinshake

Yes I got it working by replacing all the files posted by Serge and then hard coding the secure url as described in an earlier post.

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5960/P45/#t35834

Hope this helps.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ODB
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  142
Joined:  2008-02-06
London
 

Is there an ‘official’ fix for this? I mean - the shipping problem.

After an hour of faffing around I’ve managed to get rid of the error thanks to mikefifield sorted but now I still have the huge problem of the shipping not being added. Surely as one of the core payment methods this should be resolved by now?!?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pritch20001
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2008-05-31
 

Is this the same cause as the issue I have, where google checkout not recognising that free shipping should only apply to orders over £50 as per my free shipping method?

Please?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ODB
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  142
Joined:  2008-02-06
London
 

My issue is that google checkout does not correctly add shipping onto any order.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
barrmy
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined:  2008-06-03
 

I’m having the same problem as etho.... the shipping charges will not pass (the integration error there is “URL you are using for merchant calculations is not valid or is not https http://www.website.com/googlecheckout/api/—the error we got is: An HTTPS URL is required.") and I get a 401 when trying to complete the order ("We encountered an error trying to access your server at https://www.website.com/googlecheckout/api/—the error we got is: Send failed with code: 401. Response body was: Failed to Get Basic Authentication Headers")

This is pretty frustrating as it was the only reason I got SSL since paypal ipn works fine and I won’t be taking CC directly...i tried everything in this thread and nothing is working....

*edit* I was able to solve the https url problem using protenshake’s solution, hardcoding the url into the checkout file (i just went ahead and added the url w/o a variable)..i’m worried that will break when 1.1 comes out....so the 401 is the only issue now, i’m not using php over cgi....

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dmason2
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-06-18
 

From Google Checkout Forum Carrier Calculated Shipping Does Not Return Accurate Results::

Thank you for your email.

I understand that you’ve been experiencing issues with Carrier
Calculated
Shipping.

->Well Yeah it has not worked since release. What use is “Carrier
Calculated Shipping” when it does not accurately “Calculate Shipping”
Doesn’t Google test anything?

I’ve previously informed our engineers of these issues and
we’re currently working on solutions.

->But you have not actually fixed anything, and the current released
code is returning wildly inaccurate results. Is this stated in the
docs somewhere: Carrier Calculated shipping returns results +/-
30% ???????

In regards to the shipping fee
inconsistency, the system was updated several weeks ago.

->The results were off by 20-30% for UPS and Fedex and USPS in many
cases returned no meaningful results and in many cases would charge
the customer $0.00 for shipping express mail packages instead of the
actually cost of hundreds of dollars

This update brought Carrier Calculated rates within several dollars of
the UPS/Fedex
results.

->Flat out untrue! And even if it were true why is it “within several
dollars”? It should be exact not an estimate! Again where in the docs
is it revealed that the results returned are “within several dollars”
and not accurate as they should be

We still have one additional update to perform to match
UPS/Fedex rates.

->Why is this so hard? Why not call the shippers APIs directly like
everyone else?

This update is currently undergoing testing before it’s
released.

->This is a joke. You did not test the previous releases. I am sure
this is not going to change.

I believe that you have some useful feedback about Carrier Calculated
Shipping and would like to setup sometime for a phone call.  What day/
time
would work best for you?

->It is nice you have time to talk on the phone. I think maybe instead
you should spend your time fixing the code! Here is all the useful
feedback you need. Carrier Calculated Shipping Does Not Return
Accurate Results and it Should DOWN TO THE PENNY!

Thanks,
Peng

->No Thanks Peng!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
enru
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

I’ve fixed the googlecheckout integration errors like:

“The URL that you are using for merchant calculations is not valid or is not https http://www.....”

and I posted a bug Issue #6219

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
etho201
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  85
Joined:  2008-04-03
Summerville, SC
 

Hopefully your fix will work for me! Can you attach the file in this post… I didn’t see where I could download it from the bug tracking page.

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
enru
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-06-16
 

As requested....

magento/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Url.php

Fixed getRouteUrl() and getBaseUrl() methods.

Ideally Varien should implement setSecure() method in this class.

FYI this will get overwritten if you ever update the Core Modules.

public function getRouteUrl($routePath=null$routeParams=null)
    
{
        $this
->unsetData('route_params');

        if (!
is_null($routePath)) {
            $this
->setRoutePath($routePath);
        
}
        
if (is_array($routeParams)) {
            $this
->setRouteParams($routeParamsfalse);
        
}

        
//$url = $this->getBaseUrl().$this->getRoutePath($routeParams); //<== bugfix / removed
        
$url $this->getBaseUrl($routeParams).$this->getRoutePath($routeParams); //<== bugfix
        
return $url;
    
}

public function getBaseUrl($params=array())
    
{
        
if (isset($params['_store'])) {
            $this
->setStore($params['_store']);
        
}
        
if (isset($params['_type'])) {
            $this
->setType($params['_type']);
        
}
        $useSecure
= (bool) $this->getSecure(); //<== bugfix updated 2008-08-08
        
if (isset($params['_secure'])) {
            $this
->setSecure($params['_secure']);
            
$useSecuretrue//<== bugfix
        
}

        
//return $this->getStore()->getBaseUrl($this->getType(), $this->getSecure());//<== bugfix / removed
        
return $this->getStore()->getBaseUrl($this->getType(), $useSecure); //<== bugfix
    
}
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
etho201
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  85
Joined:  2008-04-03
Summerville, SC
 

Thanks for uploading the file here!

I tried the fix but then Google Checkouts Integration console reported an error.

The good news (in my opinion) is that I’m getting a different error than usual.

Instead of:
We encountered an error trying to access your server at https://secure.siteurl.com/googlecheckout/api/?SID=F4ftxKGd1RUoBHp4FqSjy7ikAZfX4hHda38gh&#x2F;QkfQp&#x3F;—the error we got is: Sending failed with HTTP response code: 401. Response body was: Failed to Get Basic Authentication Headers

I get:
Error parsing XML; message from parser is: The markup in the document following the root element must be well-formed.

<b>Fatal error</b>:  Call to undefined method GoogleResponse::HttpAuthentication() in <b>/home/user/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/GoogleCheckout/Model/Api/Xml/Callback.php</bon line <b>47</b><br />

Line 47:
$status = $this->getGResponse()->HttpAuthentication();

I don’t know what to make of the XML parsing error. I’ll do some searching to see if I can figure out something.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
enru
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2008-06-16
 
etho201 - 04 August 2008 12:39 PM

Line 47:
$status = $this->getGResponse()->HttpAuthentication();

Could this be something to with what you did in an earlier post? Did you not delete that method?

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/5960/#t29013

Try updating to the latest Magento Release and then applying my fix or restoring any amends you made to /lib/googlecheckout/googleresponse.php

.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
etho201
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  85
Joined:  2008-04-03
Summerville, SC
 

No, before applying your fix I replaced the 2 files I had modified with unmodified 1.1.2 files. I will try again and refresh the cache this time to see if I get different results. I think my problem has something to do with php and cgi, does your fix address that?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top