Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

JQuery slider
 
benDesign0110
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2009-05-04
 

I’m trying to put a jquery slider effect onto the front page of my site. I have the effect working on a non-Magento site, so I’m pretty sure the js is okay (I am NOT a programmer!!!). I took the js and pasted it into head.phtml and the script is showing up but not functioning. I think I’m a step short. Is there somewhere you could point me to figure this out?

The page is posted at http://www.bamboorevolution.com/dev

Thanks in advance for your help!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kiatng
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  875
Joined:  2008-09-03
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
 

Here is a quite a detail wiki on how to put jQuery Support within Magento

http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/development/adding_jquery_support_using_a_jquery_plugin_example

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benDesign0110
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2009-05-04
 

Aswesome. That was a big help. I followed the instructions, and I’m pretty sure I adapted them correctly, but it’s still not quite working. The js is showing up in the header but fails to interact with the html in the body. I think I’m doing something incorrectly with the actual script, which I saved into a file called slider.js.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you to all!

The page can be seen at: http://bamboorevolution.com/dev/

Thank you again!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benDesign0110
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2009-05-04
 

So, I definitely know the problem is the slider.js. I linked the “working” file to the js files on the Magento site, and when I added slider.js, it stopped working. I have since pulled that file reference from the Magento xml file and pasted it all into head.phtml. The code now matches on both sites, but still doesn’t work on the Magento version.

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

hey,

as an alternative you could try front page slide show.

have a search on google for it. Its not free ($20) i think but it works pretty well. with magento.

there is one slight bug with it but if you search the forums there is a fix for it

hth
brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benDesign0110
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2009-05-04
 

Hi Brendan, et al,

I can’t seem to find the Magento Connect page for FPSS, just a lot of dialogue about getting it to work. Perhaps someone can help get me pointed in the right direction.

Or, if someone can look at the code at http://bamboorevolution.com/dev/ and tell me if anything is jumping out as to why it’s not working, I’d be really appreciative!!!

Thanks again for your time!

Ben

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
brendanb
Mentor
 
Total Posts:  1093
Joined:  2008-07-16
London, United Kingdom
 

hi,

ah there is no magento connect extension for this

you can use the static version of front page slide

here is a thread about FPSS
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/10709/
http://www.frontpageslideshow.net/

hth
brendan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
holgre
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2009-03-05
Berlin
 

Hi Ben,
Maybe you want to try this jQuery extension: http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/1619/mxperts--jquery-base.
It makes it easy to implement your js code in admin panel or load your own scripts there. Just read the doc. I’ve get a sliding panel working with it. It’s not online at the moment.
This extension runs without conflicts side by side with prototype.
And myabe in your scripts you have to write “jQuery” instead of “$” (see http://docs.jquery.com/Using_jQuery_with_Other_Libraries).
ciao
.h

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benDesign0110
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  16
Joined:  2009-05-04
 

Thank you so much! I’ll check that out and see if I can get it to work!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top