Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
“Default Store View” Appearing in title tag
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 

I am getting the name of the “default Store View” appear in all my title tags in addition to the defaults I have set up in admin>system>configuration>general>design>html head

when I change the name of the default store view to something else I get that new name appear in the titile tag

this is on every page frontend ,except cms pages

does anyone know where the title tag is pulling this from or why?

thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
appity
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2007-09-19
 

Have you tried admin>system>configuration>manage stores and then change the store view name to what you want.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
golles
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  257
Joined:  2008-01-15
 
ROAR - 03 April 2008 01:51 PM

Have you tried admin>system>configuration>manage stores and then change the store view name to what you want.

yes, I have , as I suggested in my above post - which is ok for now - but I did not really want it to appear at all.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Zer0
Member
 
Total Posts:  52
Joined:  2008-03-22
Prague / Czech Republic
 

Bump.

I am searching this issue too.

How to remove “store view” from the <title>?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kremdela
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-04-03
 

This value is pulled in from the value of the “Store View Name” Field found at: System -> Manage Stores

Hope this helps someone, it was bothering me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

I was wondering this exact same thing - there’s gotta be a PHP string somewhere to remove it.  I’m not sure where the head.phtml file is looking to grab it with this string:

<title><?php echo htmlspecialchars(html_entity_decode($this->getTitle())) ?></title>

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pauljg1
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  179
Joined:  2008-02-22
 

Is this the file you are looking for app/code/core/Mage/Page/Block/Html/head.php

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

I’m having the same weirdo issue too.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 
pauljg1 - 18 April 2008 01:28 AM

Is this the file you are looking for app/code/core/Mage/Page/Block/Html/head.php

Nope - you still can’t cut the store view name out of the title there.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

@sherrie: it happens in _prepareLayout() methods of main blocks for affected pages.

For example in Mage_Catalog_Block_Product_View and Mage_Catalog_Block_Category_View:

$headBlock->setTitle($title.' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('catalog/seo/title_separator').' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('system/store/name'));

Probably should have a configuration flag for this.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

@Moshe: Thanks!  I took out the

.’ ‘.Mage::getStoreConfig(’system/store/name’)

from both of them, but it’s still showing - Default Store View in the title ... did I take out the wrong part?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

The usual suspect - cache disabled/refreshed?

On which page does it show store name in title now?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

I disabled the cache, refreshed the cache, and reopened the browser and it’s still there on both the category and product view pages. The url is http://www.minervapromotions.com/agd if that helps at all.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Here it is - the default catalog title based on breadcrumbs: in Mage_Catalog_Block_Breadcrumbs.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

Fantastic!  Thanks SO much!  You da man!

For anyone else wondering, in app/code/core/Mage/Breadcrumbs.php

On line 41 find:

$title = $breadcrumb[’label’].’ ‘.Mage::getStoreConfig(’catalog/seo/title_separator’).’ ‘.$title;

and change it to:

$title = $breadcrumb[’label’];

This will remove the category name, too, though - so if you want it you’ll have to mess around a bit more.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sszettella
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-04-28
 

I have found a very different solution, as the code mentioned no longer exists in version 1.0.  Here’s what I have come up with:

Source File:

/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Block/Product/View.php

line 36 reads:

$headBlock->setTitle($title.' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('catalog/seo/title_separator').' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('system/store/name'));

A very simple solution, that preserves the category name in the <title> tag is this:

$headBlock->setTitle($title.' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('catalog/seo/title_separator').' '.Mage::registry('current_category')->getName());

This causes the title to have both the product name and the category name.  However, products can be accessed without their category paths, so a more complete solution is this:

$headBlock->setTitle($title . (Mage::registry('current_category') ? ' '.Mage::getStoreConfig('catalog/seo/title_separator').' '.Mage::registry('current_category')->getName() : '') );

Thank you for the previous posts, they certainly sent me in the right direction.

Hope this helps someone.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 3