Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Thoughts on design, css, and templates for megento. 

JesseStewart

Total Posts:  82
Salt Lake City, Utah

I’ve been working with version 1 and I have some thoughts on the way the css is put together for the default theme and what would make a good blank theme.

The idea behind a blank theme is having a starting point for new designs. As a designer I don’t want my site to look like the default theme at all, but that really requires going through a very long boxes.css to find the elements and make the change.

I have already tried to do this and found that it is a big task to separate that which is necessary and that which is purely aesthetics. A lot of page elements use an image as a background, these would need to be changed to use html elements by default so that without being styled, they are still displayed and functional.

These are just my thoughts and I would love to hear yours. Thanks.

I would love to help with this endeavor and would like some help from someone maybe a bit more experiences with magento.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

alistek

Total Posts:  293
Normal, IL

I fully agree, the templating documentation could use quite a bit of work.  That is quite understandable given the fast pace of development but the designer’s guide just doesn’t cut it.  Having a barebones template to work with and just the essential CSS would be a godsend and that is what I am working on right now.  I created a theme under default called “skeleton” and started stripping out all but the essential files.  I was left with: