Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
Issues specific to the United Kingdom

Ross
Guru

Total Posts:  336
Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK

Now that we have a forum for UK users, I thought it would be good to make use of it!  It would be great to have Magento working really well for the UK market.

Here are a few issues that I can think of, maybe others can suggest more, or think of ways to deal with them:

- en-GB language translation
- support for popular UK payment gateways
- currency issues?
- tax rules
- postage calculation (royal mail?)
- address from postcode
- data import and export for UK accounting software

As I am a developer, and don’t do day to day management of a shop, my knowledge of the business requirements is probably limited.  It would be good to have some input from shop owners and managers as to the issues they see as important.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

TrevorGinn

Total Posts:  8

Hi Ross,

I have having problems with integrating Magento with PayPal express in the UK, I don’t think that the integration has been perfomed fully.

I enter the API details correctly, the the express checkout goes to the PP homepage and not to the express checkout.

This could be me fucking up the setup, however, I have just set up zen cart with the same setting and it worked fine

Trevor

Magento Community
Magento Community

Tonyo

Total Posts:  15
Conwy N.Wales

Hi Ross

Tony here from Conwy North Wales.
I found that the hosted postcode finder at http://www.postcodeanywhere.com was the easiest to implement into magento.
I would like to have had the inline javascript version working http://www.postcodeanywhere.com/developers/tutorials/inlinejavascript.aspx as a preference but couldn’t get the script to run within the checkout pages.