Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
How do I add thumbnails to custom options? 
 
tjonnyc
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  111
Joined:  2009-04-07
 

I would like to add thumbnails / custom HTML code to the “Custom Options”.

Any suggestions on accomplishing this?

Image Attachments
thumbnails-on-custom-options.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tjonnyc
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  111
Joined:  2009-04-07
 

Yes, I would like to have an image for each custom option.

The good news is, the “custom options” aren’t really custom options - they’re optional accessories I’d like to upsell with each product. So the images/description/price of each accessory will not vary from product to product. I.e. “Accessory A” will always be $ 9.95, and always have the same image.

As far as custom modules go - haven’t found one yet, willing to pay though.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tjonnyc
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  111
Joined:  2009-04-07
 

WOW. This definitely gives me a lot to “chew on”!

I think you gave me 95% of the solution - I just have to modify the code to work as check-box-list, and I’m good to go!

Just to double-check - this is for one of the latest versions, right? 1.3.x ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tkwin1104
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2008-12-09
 

Works Great Thank You for the code

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
interneteng
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-06-01
 

dd,

Just sent you a PM. Works great, any tips on how to add it as a custom module instead of altering the mage code?

Many thanks cheese

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
demonkoryu
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  328
Joined:  2008-11-26
Dortmund, Germany
 
tjonnyc - 10 August 2009 12:19 PM

Yes, I would like to have an image for each custom option.

The good news is, the “custom options” aren’t really custom options - they’re optional accessories I’d like to upsell with each product. So the images/description/price of each accessory will not vary from product to product. I.e. “Accessory A” will always be $ 9.95, and always have the same image.

As far as custom modules go - haven’t found one yet, willing to pay though.

Isn’t this provided by the grouped/bundled product type?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vij
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  81
Joined:  2009-02-13
 

hey thats great...its work fine for me......
but still i have little prblm with this......
i want to add image with help of admin.....
how can i do this....
pls help me out
any help would be appriciated....

thank u

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vij
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  81
Joined:  2009-02-13
 

wat u have done i want same thing and im done with that,
if i want to add more images so i have to loged into ftp than again upload images in the particular folder.....
so i was juts thinking that is that possible to add images with the help of admin browse and upload function so that i would be easier to add images for custom option........

srry for my bad english
thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vij
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  81
Joined:  2009-02-13
 

thats fine atleast i can go with ur code
and thnks for ur rply........
ill be waiting to someone will sortout this prblm....

thank u once again

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 

@dd_gi

Really thanks for help.
I was looking for it and really work.
:D

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
vikshu
Member
 
Total Posts:  69
Joined:  2009-04-09
Noida
 

@dd_gi

Really thanks for help.  Its really a nice help.

I was also thinking if i could achieve another functionality. Actually was looking how i could change product image , description once i select a option from drop down. I hope there might be some way to get it done with as ease as you have get us inserted thumbnails. Please let me if there is any other method , extension to do so?  It will be great to get the image of the product changed along with the description when we select an option from drop down in configurable products.

Thanks
Vikrant

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 
dd_gi - 24 September 2009 04:19 AM

That is best accomplished through configurable products and not custom options, there are several extensions available for that as well there is at least one free tutorial that will show you how to accomplish it.

It’s working perfect.
But just one problem I have.
I set one custom option named BOX.
So it shows row1 to row5.

And I created another option called BAG.
From row6 to row8.
Bag option comes after Box.
Box shows all images right, butt bag is showing row1 again, and 2 and 3.
What could be the problem????

Oh, in option Box, if I create one more row6, it shows right.
The problem is that your script starts all again when we put another option.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 

And how could I make it work for 2 or more options?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 

Option 1:
ROW1 TO ROW5
Option 2:
row6 to row8

Row1 to 5 are pics of boxes.
7 to 8 are bags

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 

Well, what I do is.
Create option Box and give options:
Name:  SKU:
Free row1
Beach row2
etc row3
etc row4
etc row5

Create BAG:
Name:  SKU:
Beach row6
bag2 row7
bag3 row8

But bags show pics of boxes.
I already tried to change name of pics, doesn’t work.

You can pick any method you think it’s better.
I am very thankful for your help.
:D

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Eric Cavalcanti
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  710
Joined:  2008-09-28
San Antonio
 

@dd_gi

Thanks very much!
Works perfect.
Only problem is that 2nd option name shows different than 1st.

Check image.
BOX is bold.
BAG is not.

Image Attachments
box.jpg
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 3