Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Issues With Cron and Catalog price rules
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

Ok I used your file instead and that seemed to work, i got an email that said:

Cron is active Tuesday 1st of September 2009 01:09:53 PM

before i was getting a page not found error even though the cron.php file was there.

now i just go to my control panel and go to the cron jobs page and put:
wget http://www.lurebeauty.com.com/cron.php > /dev/null

is that right?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Revilo
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2009-03-19
 

basically yeah, the wget did not work for me but i think this is a server dependent thing. I had to use the php bin line. You will get an email every 5 minutes once it is active and you can watch it in the cronmon file.

*/* * * * /absolute/path/to/bin/php -/absolute/path/to/magento/cron.php
but with out the -f switch

make sure you

*/* * * *
put this in the minute field
*/5
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

wow i must really be an idiot because i have no idea what you meant in your last post.  im really really really new to this stuff - im sorry

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Revilo
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2009-03-19
 

lol, no worries.

go to cpanel and create a cron task, might be cron tab (sorry i do not use cpanel) you might need to google that one

it will ask you to schedule an event. I found i had to use the */5 thing to make it execute every 5 minutes not at 5 past every hour.

the command i have to execute is

usr/bin/php /var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/httpdocs/cron.php

You will need to find the absolute path to your site on the server ie the /var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/httpdocs/cron.php not www.yoursite.com/var/cron.php

You may need to contact your host to help with the paths our use the

<?php echo getcwd(); ?>
to get the path using php

I hope that is a bit clearer

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

thank you!!!!

Ok so i put this

usr/bin/php /home/lure/public_html/cron.php

i see jobs successful but i cant tell if its updating the price rules or not?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Revilo
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2009-03-19
 

before you get there are you getting an email every 5 minutes saying the cron is active @xx:xx etc?

if not then the cron.php file is not being executed.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

No im not getting any emails, only that first time :(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

Ok i found this online:
php5-cli -f /home/USERNAME/public_html/cron.php

and that seems to be working, ill keep my eyes out for the emails every 5
thank you so much for everything!!!!

does this mean i can set up anything i want to run every day etc?  i.e. if i want to send a follow up email to customers once a week, etc?

thanks for everything

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Revilo
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2009-03-19
 

Thanks for the reply. I’m so glad i could help you out!

Cheers
Revilo

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lurebeauty
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  229
Joined:  2009-07-06
 

Yep its working!!  you are the best, thanks so much for taking the time to help out a beginner smile

Jen

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Richeh
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-06-23
 

I’ve got the same problem.  I’m not sure if it’s worked yet, I’ll know this time tomorrow; but this is the best documentation I’ve found for it so far.  Revilio, you sir are a gent and a darling.  I’m forwarding this thread to the other massive one, since that has no real solution beyond “butcher your core files”.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Revilo
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2009-03-19
 

Thanks Richeh, feeling the love smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Loic_LC
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  194
Joined:  2007-12-19
Paris, France
 

Just to let you now you helped more people !

I could set up the cronmon.php and emails alerts from cron.php. This should be added in the wiki I think.

I receive the emails, and I get the list from cronmon.
But my sitemaps are not generated.
Just to make sure, is “catalogindex_run_queued” the job that’s suppose to generate sitemap or not ?

The only jobs that I have are :
cem_auto_update
catalogindex_run_queued
newsletter_send_all

Does anyone know what’s supposed to appear for the sitemap job ?
thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cheekygeek
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2009-04-14
 

I notice that the cronmon.php file ends with a “?>” but while the cron.php opens with “<?php” it lacks the closing tag.

Is this correct/proper or should it be added?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cheekygeek
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2009-04-14
 

I’m dealing with a Magento installation that was done with one click using SimpleScripts on Bluehost. Therefore, I didn’t have to input any database information. What file contains the database information (host, username, password) that I need to enter on my cronmon.php?

Thanks for providing this great tool!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top