Magento Forum

Migrate an existing site into Magento

blwizard

Total Posts:  2

What is the best way to migrate an existing html site into Magento? (newbie here, please be patient!)
I have a regular static html site hosted a dreamhost and want to “turn it into” an e-commerce site.
What is the best way of accomplishing this with minimum downtime?

Thanks

Ben

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

golles

Total Posts:  257

it really will depend on how your site is structured now.

if it just straight static content that has no products etc - you could quickly recreate these pages in the magento cms.
then you just need to configure the ecommerce part of magento add products, set up shipping, payment processing etc etc etc and off you go.

if your site already has products / ecommerce functionality then you will need to either copy these products into magento with all of the associated product information or do some type of import although I doubt that is feasable if you just have static html pages.

you will also need to 301 redirect your old pages to the new magento powered pages.

or

you could just add magento to your existing site as the store part of the site

let us know a bit more about how your site is structured and one of us will be able to give a bit more help

Magento Community
Magento Community

blwizard

Total Posts:  2

Thanks for your reply.
There’s no e-commerce on the site now.
My question is really:
I think I will need to rebuild the site into magento from scratch, on a “test domain” in dreamhost.
When the site is ready, what is the best way to remove the old html site and put the magento one in it’s place?
How does the redirect work? (especially wrt the database?)

Thanks again

Magento Community
Magento Community

golles

Total Posts:  257

the redirect has nothing to do with magento it is standard practice for urls to be redirected via a method called a 301 redirect to a new url.