Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Changing ‘Tax’ to ‘VAT’ in the cart? 
 
scm1
Member
 
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2009-07-30
 

Hi,

Quick question - does any one know how to change the word ‘Tax’ to ‘VAT’ in the totals section of the cart?

Thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
J_T_
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1961
Joined:  2008-08-07
London-ish, UK
 

Which language pack are you using? US or GB?

Either way, you need to look in the CSV files. A grep for “tax” will find the right file quickly.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hexdoll
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-01-19
 

I am having the same problem, I have changed the line in app/locale/en_US/Mage_Tax.csv to

"Tax","VAT"

I assumed the first occurrence is the index that the translation function uses to look up the translated text.

I have refreshed the caches after this change and also logged out and logged back in again but both the totals in cart and in the totals in the onepage checkout appear to be unchanged.

Is there anything else I need to do?

Edit: It’s OK I got it, forgot to change the locale in System -> Configuration: General

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
J_T_
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1961
Joined:  2008-08-07
London-ish, UK
 

Why don’t you guys just use the British English package, en_GB?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
scm1
Member
 
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2009-07-30
 

If that is set in system/configuration/locale then I am using it, if it isn’t set there then I haven’t figured out how to do it yet.  I only started using magento for the first time on Sunday, so just learing the basics at the moment…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
scm1
Member
 
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2009-07-30
 

ok, I’m confused…

if I go into the system / config / general, then I can select the default country as the UK and the locale as “English (United Kingdom)”.

But looking at the file structure on the server there is only the en_US directory full of .CSV files, but no en_GB directory…

...so do I have the UK/GB locale set or not???  Is there something else I need to do/install/configure?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
hexdoll
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-01-19
 

As far as I know you need both a directory in /app/locale for the locale named en_GB and the settings in the admin area to reflect that.

If the setting in the admin area doesn’t specify an existing locale Magento will fall back to the untranslated text i.e. the value put into the __ (double underscore) function.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
scm1
Member
 
Total Posts:  46
Joined:  2009-07-30
 

Thanks, apparantly I needed to install the GB local using magento connect.  that then creates the GB directories.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
michael_in_pp
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2008-05-27
 

For those who haven’t yet got the UK locale files, please see this post: Official Magento UK Translation (en_GB). The zip file contains a structure that indicates clearly where the UK locale files need to be saved

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
krishnak
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2010-05-16
 

Just to let people know the e-mail template is missing in the UK translation hence the e-mail invoices continue to be sent from US templates. So please copy the templates in to GB locale and modify the files to taste

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luicarpen
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2010-02-22
 

I am simply not able to change a few things even though I’ve done everything.
I’ve tried to upload the files, install through magento connect, clear cache… everything… I still have:

There are 3 items in your cart -> instead of ... in your basket
and
Grand Total Excl. Tax
Grand Total Incl. Tax
instead of VAT

I’ve changed and double checked the mage_tax.csv…
No luck…

Any ideas would be appreciated! smile

Many thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Yvo Alen
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2008-09-30
Belgium
 

The language file Mage_Tax.csv does not have a translation for grand total excl.tax, so please add the folowing lines to the file:

“Grand Total (Excl. Tax)","Grand Total (Excl. VAT)”
“Grand Total (Excl.Tax)","Grand Total (Excl.VAT)”
“Grand Total (Incl. Tax)","Grand Total (Incl. VAT)”
“Grand Total (Incl.Tax)","Grand Total (Incl.VAT)”
“Grand Total Excl. Tax","Grand Total Excl. VAT”
“Grand Total Incl. Tax","Grand Total Incl. VAT”

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pakiboyg
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2010-07-01
 

Tax is compulsory on a product or a service & VAT is the value added tax.So how is Tax converted to VAT.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
benleeke
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2011-01-12
 

Yvo Alen

You solution worked well for me.

However I still have “you have 1 item in your cart.”

I added in “cart”,"basket" to the Mage_tax.csv but could not get it to change cart to basket.

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
J_T_
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1961
Joined:  2008-08-07
London-ish, UK
 

It’s not just the individual words, but the complete phrase you need to translate (as well).

So if you change just cart to basket, it will only change instances of cart only, to basket only.

The phrase you need is elsewhere in that, or another CSV file.

Also note you can use inline translations. Just turn on inline translations in your admin config.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
swright
Member
 
Total Posts:  37
Joined:  2009-09-29
 

I have done everything which has been mentioned on the page. and almost everything has changed to VAT. apart from the catalog.

EXCL. TAX: £92.00
INCL. TAX: £110.40

but the basket on the side of the page says

MY BASKET
1 x Excl. VAT: £80.00
Incl. VAT: £96.00

im now stumped

Any ideas?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2