Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Disaster installation

Mackarov

Total Posts:  13
Sweden

Hi! is there any one out there hos knows what files folders that needs to be ftp up again after a disaster installation
Accept for the db. Is very time consuming when you have ftp all the folders again.

Or, is there another way that dont now about
bestregards
Marcus

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

ozstar

Total Posts:  32
Sydney Oz

Hi,

It would be too time consuming to go and check what files got there and what didn’t.

I am not an expert however my suggestion would be based on where I think you are, is to delete all the files you uploaded and start again cleanly. At least this way you will know for sure none of them were previously corrupted on the way up before.

However if you are on dial up this may be a long haul as you suggest.

Are you on DSL,Cable, Dial up?

What FTP program are you usuing?

Is it set to automatically know whether to upload in ascii or binary?

Have you created your database and taken a copy of the information you will need to enter?

If you are not restricted to Dial up, open your ftp client and go to your hard drive folder where you have all your Magento fiiles.

Choose them all to upload to your ‘public_html’ folder or whatever your server host calls it, and hit GO!

If you have kept your files on the server and didn’t delete them, make sure your ‘overwrite’ the files, NOT ‘resume’ them in case they are corrupted.

No go put the tea or coffee on and get a book and read for a few minutes until it’s done.  Good Luck.

oz

grin