Magento Forum

Looking For Simple “How to” Answer

pchri7518

Total Posts:  7

Hi Folks!

I am a complete newbie to backend management of an ecommerce platform.  I am looking for a simple answer to the question “What are the steps I should take (Please treat me as an idiot) to upgrade to a new version of Magento?” Do I need ftp access to the Magento file or is there a way to upgrade through the admin panel?  I have been tasked with upgrading a live store and don’t want to blow up the current site. 

I am looking for step by step advice please.

Thanks in advance!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Anton Makarenko
Magento Team

Total Posts:  184
Los Angeles, CA

Let me describe some some generic steps.

The easiest way to upgrade is to clone your database and install a brand new Magento over it. Then if everything is ok - switch your virtualhost or whatever you have - to it.
Checkout from repository is a straighforward way to pump the latest available release to your server. See http://www.magentocommerce.com/svn

Let’s assume you have a dedicated server that meets Magento requirements. You are able to manage your mysql databases as superuser, you are able to create virtualhosts. Your current Magento installation is at one of the virtualhosts.
Also you’ll need svn client installed. The newer the better.

At first, let’s clonedatabase “magento” into “magento_new”:

cd ~
mysqldump -uroot magento magento.sql
mysql 
-uroot
create database magento_new; exit;
mysql -uroot magento_new magento.sql

Now let’s create a new virtualhost for our staging installation that we’ll attempt to update. Once it is created, pump the freshest Magento into the document root:

cd /path/to/new/document_root/
svn co http://svn.magentocommerce.com/source/branches/1.3 .

Magento will require some dirs writeable:

chmod -R o+var
chmod -R o+w media
chmod 
-R o+w app/etc