Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Few questions about Data-Exchange

ryazor

Total Posts:  11
Berlin, Germany

Hello guys,
I am a developer and my company told me to learn the structure and the concept of Magento. I was told, because my company is specialized in developing complex eCommerce-solutions (mainly ERP-Data-Exchange via XML-Requests between eZ-publish and MS Navison/Dynamics or SAP).
Now my questions:

- is there a possibility to request the orderstatus from an external source, e.g. external PHP-File (maybe via SOAP or something)?
- if there is that possibility, is it even possible to modify orderstatus-data?

After a few hours of becoming acquainted with Magento and reading few topics in your forums, I found out, that there is a kind of API for miscellaneous opportunities, considering sales or products requests and modifications.

I already know, that the Magento-developers are emulous working on the stable final release of version 1.0 and finally writing a documentation also for the programming-interface. I am encouraged to get to know Magento more deeply, so my company may also offer solutions based on Magento in future.

Best regards,
Ryad

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

JayBird

Total Posts:  2

Hope this isnt considered butting in, but… I have used crx-loaded in the past and remember a contribution that included an .xml file that was used to update quantity and price for some products I had…

That would be a nice feature, if that is similar to what you are asking...the magento store owner could customize the xml structure…