Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

New here and How do I….? 

Twisted Whispers

Total Posts:  4

Hi
I am new here and would like some advice please from the experts if possible.
I usually create websites (for my own benefits) for fun, but recently I have been asked by a friend if I could design a website for his “small” family business.
Now, I believe that I cannot do this my usual way of hand-coding in HTML, XHTML and CSS.

I believe that I need PHP, MySQL and Apache installed. I am guessing this needs to be situated at the server in question. Please correct me if I am wrong, as I have never used them before.
I am also looking for some “shops” to download and install.
Without sounding to dumb, how and where would they be install to...again, as I have never done this before.
Basically, in short.....How do I set up a shop? and what “add-ons” (Templates, Search feature etc), if any do I need to make it work correctly.

Also, how exactly is Magento installed ?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Jay

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

andyellis_2000

Total Posts:  41

you need to get a poper host for the site, which matches all of magentos sys reqs,which is not hard. Seach here in the forum, i won’t advertise for anybody but there are people geared toward hosing magento, but most any good host can do it, just install the proper packages, many of whch are default with any web configuration. You would have to watch out for MySql as some host do not give you much if any use of it.