Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Trouble Installing 0.9x On Godaddy Shared Server
 
seanmvincent
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2008-03-10
 

Hi everyone.  I’ve been trying to find an answer to this problem on the forum, but all the almost-relevant posts seem to talk about using the cgi version of PHP.  I’m sure my web host (godaddy) has all the necessary versions and modules of everthing, but it still isn’t working.  I’m getting the error: “No input file specified.” It appears as soon as I type http://www.seanmvincent.com/magento/install/ into firefox and hit “Enter” (http://www.seanmvincent.com is my domain name). I’ve uploaded the latest beta release (without the sample data) and set the permission as the guide instructed.  Here are the details in list format:

Error Message: “No input file specified”
Steps before error: none, I just went to mysite/magento/install/ and the error message appeared
Host: godaddy shared hosting
Magento Version: the latest beta (0.9x) without the sample data
PHP: is run as an Apache module (not CGI)
PHP Info: my phpinfo file can be seen at http://www.seanmvincent.com/magento/phpinfo.php
htaccess: I haven’t touched the htaccess file (there isn’t one in my web root and the one in the magento folder hasn’t been touched

I would really appreciate some help.  I set up version 0.8 on a wampp server at home with no troubles.  I’m trying to set this up for work now, so I’m under a little bit of pressure to get things moving.  Thanks in advance guys.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
flowstack
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined:  2008-01-30
London, United Kingdom
 

Is your MySQL database V4 or V5. I remember trying an install on 1&1;host with a version 4 database and it failed.

Can’t remember the exact error message, but the one you posted rings a bell.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Gabrusch
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2008-03-26
Wuerzburg, Germany
 

I have the same problem. I went through many different instructions and modifications and encounter the same problem everytime.

I use Dreamhost, PHP 5.2.X, Mysql 5.0.24a and have no clue why it doesn’t work.

Go look yourself at http://magento.zechbauerdesign.de/

Any help is highly appreciated, I would even give access to my server or account if somebody wants to knee deep in there.

Regards

Gabriel

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
flowstack
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined:  2008-01-30
London, United Kingdom
 

@Gabrusch - Your store looks like it is working. Is there a particular part where the problem occurs?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seanmvincent
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2008-03-10
 

@ Flowstack - in my godaddy account settings it says that the mySQL version is 5.0

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Gabrusch
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2008-03-26
Wuerzburg, Germany
 

Click on “Demo Store” and see what happens.

I played around with .htaccess files and a custom php.ini but found no way to resolve this problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
seanmvincent
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2008-03-10
 

Fixed.  I have another error now (pdo exception), but I’ve fixed the “No input file specified” error.  Check out this post (http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4520/P15/).  I just had to add a php5.ini with the right settings into the root folder on my server.  Hope that helps you!

EDIT: ...instead of the usual php.ini

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sherrie
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1655
Joined:  2007-12-14
Waterloo, ON
 

I’m on DreamHost and mine installs fine, minus taking forever to upload all the files.

I read somewhere else on the forums that GoDaddy didn’t meet all the requirements and someone had to switch to a different host because of it.  I would do a search for GoDaddy on this site and see what they said.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top