Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
Image upload error
 
ReQueM
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-03-25
 

i can’t upload image (get:Upload HTTP Error)
please see attached image

how do i fix this problem?

sorry for my bad english

Image Attachments
error.gif
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Smokersroom
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

Hi Guys, first post after downloading what looks like an AMAZING system. Congrats to all involved.

I am also having teething troubles with the image upload system, as detailed above.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

S.

Update to say: The whole product catalogue fails to save and the flash icon just keeps ticking away. I was thinking maybe it was something to do with permissions?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mytechfactory
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  78
Joined:  2007-12-27
New York, NY
 
Smokersroom - 25 March 2008 11:04 AM

Update to say: The whole product catalogue fails to save and the flash icon just keeps ticking away. I was thinking maybe it was something to do with permissions?

Having the same problem. I was working for me before
It’s not the permissions. I chmod the folder 755 then 777 and it doesnt work.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Smokersroom
Member
 
Total Posts:  63
Joined:  2007-09-04
 

OK, I have the solution.

Your hosting needs to be amended somewhat. Ask your hosts to modify MOD_SEC to allow https to pass a URL via a string.

I don’t know what it means, but it fixed my installation!

S.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Sébastien Yaher
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-04-05
 
Smokersroom - 27 March 2008 02:06 AM

OK, I have the solution.

Your hosting needs to be amended somewhat. Ask your hosts to modify MOD_SEC to allow https to pass a URL via a string.

I don’t know what it means, but it fixed my installation!

S.

The solution for this, provided by my hosting customer service :
add the following to the .htaccess:

SecFilterEngine Off

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Is that you evil one?
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2007-09-13
 

Hello,

I am having the same issue and I have looked into the solutions posted here and everything should be fine.  My issue is slightly different however.  It works fine if you upload on a Windows or linux pc but not on a Mac.  I have tried multiple Macs and they all have the Http Upload error message.  Any thoughts?

Ross

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ptjedi
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  250
Joined:  2008-03-12
Porto, Portugal
 

This “SecFilterEngine Off” solution worked for me! Thank you!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jamaicamama
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  19
Joined:  2008-01-10
 

Adding SecFilterEngine Off to .htaccess file worked for me as well

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Condom Girl
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-09-10
 
Inline media - 06 May 2008 11:35 PM

Same problem here. Uploading with OSX Firefox gives me the Upload HTTP Error, but with Inter Explorer it works just fine.
I updated flash player to the latest version, but no succes. I tried all possible solutions, but I can’t get it working.

Any suggestions?

Problem solved for me and my mac: I had the same problem on my Mac and tried upgrading to flash 10 CR, (for which you have to use an uninstaller first). That didn’t work, so used the uninstaller again and put the stable release of flash 9 back and now the upload works fine for me

Instructions

to solve upload problem in magento need to replace flash with the flash 9 standard release

uninstall first (quit all browsers before running and remove any external drives ipod etc):

http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_14157&sliceId;=1

then install 9 (quit all browsers before running):

http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&promoid;=BUIGP
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
meeeearcus
Member
 
Total Posts:  57
Joined:  2008-07-01
 
Inline media - 06 May 2008 11:35 PM

Same problem here. Uploading with OSX Firefox gives me the Upload HTTP Error, but with Inter Explorer it works just fine.
I updated flash player to the latest version, but no succes. I tried all possible solutions, but I can’t get it working.

Any suggestions?

Check this thread http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4980/

May have something to do with your .htaccess file and directory protection.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
sil
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-11-08
 

To anyone that has a HTTP upload error AND has a password protected store directory (for under construction reasons):
remove the directory password protection and you’ll be able to upload your files again! That was what happened to me. :)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Daviz
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2009-08-21
 

@sil Password protection was also my problem. Thanks for the hint!

Regards,
David

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
proteinedieet
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-10-27
 

I’m not sure if I have the same problem,
the upload works fine, but then , after upload, i get the http error.

was that the same with you guys?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
proteinedieet
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-10-27
 

I copied a php.ini file that was in the root of the server (public_html), to the public_html/magento root folder
but no succes
still uploads, but then the error

ok, a friend of mine who has a Mac, logged in and he could upload just fine, on 2 different macs (he has no winwdows pc, as most macies don’t)
Ive tried now on a windows XP pc, en new win7 desktop, an brand new win7 laptop, and a XP tablet pc, both with firefox and explorer, and updated the flash
i could not upload imaged (that is, i could upload, but then the http error shows.)
I feel this problem has to be looked in to

Image Attachments
Capture1.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
proteinedieet
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  3
Joined:  2009-10-27
 

Ok
problem is solved
I had to contact my hosting provider, and now it works

Hello,

We could see that mod_security was causing the issue. We have disabled mod_security for the domain

We have uploaded a test image without any issue. Snapshot is attached with this.

Please check it from your end and let us know if you need any further assistance

.”
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
RonArb
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-05-18
 

Thanks, I just figured out why I couldn’t upload product images:
I had my public_html folder password protected in cPanel.

So if you have password protecting your site, you’ll need to remove it in cPanel.

good luck!

Image Attachments
cPanel_scrnShot.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2