Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 6 of 6
Layered navigation at home page? 
 
Adjustware
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  654
Joined:  2009-05-11
 
steffny - 25 September 2009 10:07 PM

Because there is so many POST but not having the complete and success information

We are working on the solution, hope it will be available soon

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rwone
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  174
Joined:  2009-02-12
 
Loïc - 20 April 2009 11:19 PM

Try to comment / remove this from line 1 in catalog/navigation/left.phtml

<?php if (!Mage::registry('current_category')) return ?>

worked out for me.

this didn’t work for me - made the change in app/design/frontend/default/default/template/catalog/navigation/left.phtml

somebody please tell us how this is done!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
duntuk
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2009-02-09
 
merigold - 25 November 2009 08:41 PM

left.phtml only display categories on layered navigation.
catalog.xml has the left panel code like this :

<reference name="left">
<block type="catalog/navigation" name="catalog.cat.leftnav" after="currency" template="catalog/navigation/left.phtml"/>
<block type="catalog/layer_view" name="catalog.leftnav" after="catalog.cat.leftnav" template="catalog/layer/view.phtml"/>
</reference>

View.phtml gives filtered navogation. and for home page try to add on admin->cms->home page-> Layout Update XML .

thanks, this worked pretty well… except the filtering part of the navigation is expecting a list view--so that’s next.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
rwone
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  174
Joined:  2009-02-12
 

For those who have not found a satisfactory solution to having the ‘Shop By’ module on the front page, and those that know how to, I have started a Magento group called “Committed Users For ‘Shop By’ on Front Page!” - users will come together and group their funds to pay a developer so that a complete, robust, and easy solution is made and released to the community. Please join today and share your ideas at http://www.magentocommerce.com/group/view/369/.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
xbasar
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2009-12-24
 

I have the layered navigation at the homepage but now the list of products (the products at the chosen category) not only list at the homepage but also re-lists after the end of the page at the bottom.

Can somebody help me.

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ptjedi
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  250
Joined:  2008-03-12
Porto, Portugal
 

rwone, AITOC has already a solution for it and believe me, it is well worth the price: http://www.magentocommerce.com/extension/2064/layered-navigation-pro

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Amasty
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3988
Joined:  2009-11-10
 

A new magento extension, Improved Navigation allows to show layered navigation on home page. No core files changes, custom price ranges, no slow ajax, easy, 2-minutes installation. And many new features, like images in the layered navigation, sorting options list by alphabet, showing long options lists in dropdowns and many more. See live demo:  http://improved-navigation.amasty.com/

Image Attachments
different-types.pngshop-by-brands.pngmeaningful-price-ranges.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
CharliePinglass
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  12
Joined:  2009-08-22
 

+1 for AITOC’s Layered Navigation Pro module. It works really well. We’ve got a customized version of it on our site you can check out:

http://www.justeyewear.com

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
arjun2121
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2011-10-18
 

Will the layered module work for a refine search feature e.g. in http://www.globaleyeglasses.com to sort product (eyeglasses) by attributes

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Amasty
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  3988
Joined:  2009-11-10
 

Yes, with our extension you can create practically the same page, and note the SEO urls, it is also important.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
kajal
Member
 
Total Posts:  60
Joined:  2010-06-27
 

Hello,

Just in case someone is still facing issue to show layered navigation on the home page for 1.7

step :1
Go to CMS > pages > home page
select : design tab > place the following code in custom design :

<reference name="left">
<
block type="catalog/navigation" name="catalog.cat.leftnav" after="currency" template="catalog/navigation/left.phtml"/>
<
block type="catalog/layer_view" name="catalog.leftnav" after="catalog.cat.leftnav" template="catalog/layer/view.phtml"/>
<
action method="unsetChild"><alias>right.reports.product.viewed</alias></action>
<
action method="unsetChild"><alias>right.reports.product.compared</alias></action>
</
reference>
<
reference name="content">
   <
block type="catalog/product_list" name="product_home" template="catalog/product/list.phtml">
      <
action method="setCategoryId">[b]<category_id>2</category_id>[/b]</action>
      <
block type="catalog/product_list_toolbar" name="product_list_toolbar" template="catalog/product/list/toolbar.phtml">
         <
block type="page/html_pager" name="product_list_toolbar_pager" />
      </
block>
      <
action method="setToolbarBlockName"><name>product_list_toolbar</name></action>
   </
block>
</
reference>

where <category_id>2</category_id> has to be your root category

Step -2 :
make sure that your root category is enabled and set ‘is anchor’ to ‘yes’

Hope this helps smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mage Solution
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  179
Joined:  2013-11-12
 

Why don’t you take a look at Magento layered navigation to solve your problem ! Click HERE
Hope it useful !

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mage Solution
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  179
Joined:  2013-11-12
 

Look at best solutions for your Magento store at Magesolution

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ktsixit
Member
 
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2008-08-20
 
kajal - 04 February 2013 01:03 AM

Hello,

Just in case someone is still facing issue to show layered navigation on the home page for 1.7

step :1
Go to CMS > pages > home page
select : design tab > place the following code in custom design :

<reference name="left">
<
block type="catalog/navigation" name="catalog.cat.leftnav" after="currency" template="catalog/navigation/left.phtml"/>
<
block type="catalog/layer_view" name="catalog.leftnav" after="catalog.cat.leftnav" template="catalog/layer/view.phtml"/>
<
action method="unsetChild"><alias>right.reports.product.viewed</alias></action>
<
action method="unsetChild"><alias>right.reports.product.compared</alias></action>
</
reference>
<
reference name="content">
   <
block type="catalog/product_list" name="product_home" template="catalog/product/list.phtml">
      <
action method="setCategoryId">[b]<category_id>2</category_id>[/b]</action>
      <
block type="catalog/product_list_toolbar" name="product_list_toolbar" template="catalog/product/list/toolbar.phtml">
         <
block type="page/html_pager" name="product_list_toolbar_pager" />
      </
block>
      <
action method="setToolbarBlockName"><name>product_list_toolbar</name></action>
   </
block>
</
reference>

where <category_id>2</category_id> has to be your root category

Step -2 :
make sure that your root category is enabled and set ‘is anchor’ to ‘yes’

Hope this helps smile

Hi,
I tried the solution you suggeted and it gives me an error:

Fatal error: Call to a member function setLayer() on a non-object in /home/website/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Block/Layer/View.php on line 134

Any idea of wha causes this? I’ve been trying to add layered navigation in a cms page, I’ve tried so many solutions and this error is everywhere! Please help someone…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
christinavick
Guru
 
Total Posts:  355
Joined:  2013-11-13
 

Hi,

Have a look this thread for help http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/302051/

Thanks
iLoveMage

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 6 of 6