Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

{RESOLVED} 1.3.2.2 : New javascript bug on category management
 
Nicolas MATHON
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-12-20
 

I have a bug in category management since I upgraded from 1.3.2.1 to 1.3.2.2
With Internet Explorer, we have an error at lines 591 and 671 of undefined object type.

667 :var url tree.editUrl;
668 :    if (storeParam{
669 
:        url url storeParam;
670 :    }
671 
:        updateContent(url);
672 :}

I can’t find the updateContent function in the page.
This error happend when I load the “category management” page for the first time, and each time I click on a category in the tree. The category form is not displayed.

Thanks,

Nicolas

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Nicolas MATHON
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-12-20
 

Seems like source code is not integrally loaded on Internet Explorer. It’s correct with other browsers.

Do someone have the same issue ?

Nicolas

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Stoffel
Member
 
Total Posts:  31
Joined:  2008-10-24
 

I have the same problem under ie7 after upgrading to 1.3.2.2

Do you solve the problem?

Stephan

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Nicolas MATHON
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2008-12-20
 

No, I went back to 1.3.2.1

Nicolas

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jensta02
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  15
Joined:  2008-04-12
 

Yep i’m also having a problem.

Using IE8 if i try to Manage Categories i get the below error.  I have to use Firefox when changing category information.  Prior to 1.3.2.2 no problems.  Have the error on all my shopping carts - even a completely brand new fresh install and new database.

---------------------------------------
Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; msn OptimizedIE8;ENAU)
Timestamp: Tue, 7 Jul 2009 11:31:49 UTC

Message: HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917)
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0
URI: http://www.mywebsite.com.au/index.php/XXX/catalog_category/

Message: Object expected
Line: 658
Char: 9
Code: 0
URI: http://www.mywebsite.com.au/index.php/XXX /catalog_category/

_____________________________________________

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
clorne
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  236
Joined:  2008-01-10
London
 

Yes I have the same error with 1.3.2.2 on IE8

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30618)
Timestamp: Tue, 7 Jul 2009 21:02:04 UTC

Message: HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917)
Line: 0
Char: 0
Code: 0

Message: Object expected
Line: 683
Char: 9
Code: 0

Also the loading/saving of categories very very slow

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luca69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

I have the same problem. confused

Found in Issue #15186 a temporary workaround: access Admin with Firefox, works fine!

The same bug is also in ie6! (tested on ie6, ie7 and ie8 with the same result)

To Nicolas: can you post the name of the file where you found those lines?

Thank you in advance grin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luca69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Working a little bit on this bug I’ve found the following:

I started checking all the upgraded files from 1.3.2.1 to 1.3.2.2 and I’ve found where the problem is (I think).

I commented out in:

app/design/Adminhtml/MY_INTERFACE/MY_THEME/template/catalog/category/edit/form.phtml (I’ve made a local module for the adminhtml).

the following line (at the very bottom of the file):

updateTopButtonToolbarToggle();

and everything seems to be all right (no more errors).

Now I have this problem: does anybody knows if this mod could compromise other Admin functions?

Sorry for my bad english grin

Luca

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luca69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

After further investigations, I’ve found that the “updateTopButtonToolbarToggle()” function it is used to create the floating “Save Category” button.

I’ve found the js function and I think that the error is in another function inside of it (named: “createTopButtonToolbarToggle()").

Remember that you can do the mod described in my last post (comment out the updateTopButtonToolbarToggle function) only if you have a local module for the Adminhtml to avoid problem with the future upgrades of Magento.
I think that this problem will be fixed soon by the Magento team (they are my heroes, I love Magento). grin

Thanks to everybody (even if nobody answer me… I have never had an answer from anyone on Magento forum… but it doesn’t matter).

Good luck to everybody.

Luca

Notes: you will get some js errors but the Manage category page works!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
samshuai
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  114
Joined:  2009-03-21
China
 

Yes. I encountered after the upgrade has the same BUG

IE8

LINK 739

var url = tree.editUrl;
if (storeParam) {
url = url + storeParam;
}
updateContent(url);
}

LINK 659

if (category_info_tabsJsTabs.activeTab) {
var params = {active_tab_id:category_info_tabsJsTabs.activeTab.id};
}
updateContent(url, params);
}
});

I hope soon to solve this BUG

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luca69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Hello samshuai!
Please, can you tell me the path of the file where there are these lines of code?
Thank you in advance!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
luca69
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  11
Joined:  2009-03-28
 

Never mind! I’ve found it right now!
Thank you the same.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
samshuai
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  114
Joined:  2009-03-21
China
 

The BUG has been resolved
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/48386/

app/design/adminhtml/default/default/template/catalog/category/edit/

form.phtml About 57 lines

<script type="text/javascript">
//<![CDATA[
    
categoryForm = new varienForm('category_edit_form');

changer to

<script type="text/javascript" defer="defer">
//<![CDATA[
    
categoryForm = new varienForm('category_edit_form');

Thank plugnplay!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Robert Neacsu
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2008-11-11
Bucurest
 

Thanks, works like a charm.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top