Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Contribution / Module Structure ( General Question )

AlexUser

Total Posts:  27

Hello All,

I have couple of questions about the creation of modules for Magento. I can find no central resource or guide as to how Modules are to be created and what structure they should follow.

I wish to get a module made to generate more advance custom stock / reorder reports along side a number of other things. However its difficult to get a coder to do this work ( and ensure its ‘upgrade proof’ ) with a lack of information. I am not a good coder myself so i have a lack of know of knowledge but i want a strong enough grasp of the structure before i get the work done.

Regards Alex

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

B00MER

Total Posts:  130
DFW, TX

Same boat about creating a module.  Best I’ve found is a Wiki entry a community user posted about the directory structure and where to extend the codebase…

basically app/code/locale/ is where you will create your code to interface.

Magento Community
Magento Community

tman_f

Total Posts:  85

If you can wait til tomorrow, I am extending the directory structure wiki article with a custom module structure article.

Good Luck

Magento Community
Magento Community

AlexUser

Thanks great news ! Will lookout for the update.

Alex

Magento Community
Magento Community

lotusseedsD
Mentor

Total Posts:  1144

tman_f - 01 April 2008 05:43 PM

If you can wait til tomorrow, I am extending the directory structure wiki article with a custom module structure article.

Good Luck