Magento Forum

   
What is the best way to build the shop and then go live? For example…
 
medic
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  173
Joined:  2007-10-30
Sydney
 

... my domain is Autumns.com.au

If I built the shop at autumns.com.au/s - could I just cange the haccess to direct people to the site when it is done?

So while I am working on the site they will just see the ‘coming soon’ page at the root autumns.com.au?

Will this work when it comes to SEO?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mytechfactory
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  78
Joined:  2007-12-27
New York, NY
 

you can build you site in another folder then move it when your done. For example if your domain autumns.com.au directs to the ../www/ folder of your web host, you can put up the coming soon sign there and build your store in ../www/magento/ and then move all the files in ../www/magento when your done to ../www/. It’s that simple.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ross
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  336
Joined:  2007-08-31
Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK
 

The PEAR installer ‘remembers’ the file system path, so if you move the files it will cause errors with the PEAR upgrade.  It is possible to remove the system path for PEAR but it is not very straight forward.

My solution is to create a static index.html holding page, and edit the .htaccess so that the holding page displays before the magento index.php.  To view the Magento home page go to http://www.example.com/home

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mark_Kimsal
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  186
Joined:  2007-09-12
Michigan, USA
 

Another solution would be to edit the index.php file and add a line similar to this:

if ($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'!= 'your IP address'{
   header
("Status: 404 File Not Found");
   exit();
  
// or...
  
include('some placeholder.html');
  exit();
}

get your IP address from whatsmyip.org or ipchicken.com

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
medic
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  173
Joined:  2007-10-30
Sydney
 
Mark_Kimsal - 27 March 2008 03:42 AM

Another solution would be to edit the index.php file and add a line similar to this:

if ($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'!= 'your IP address'{
   header
("Status: 404 File Not Found");
   exit();
  
// or...
  
include('some placeholder.html');
  exit();
}

get your IP address from whatsmyip.org or ipchicken.com

Thanks ill try that

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top