Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

What if I have no programming skills? 

greencollector

Total Posts:  3

Exactly how much programming would be involved in setting up an eCommerce site with Magento?

I work in marketing and specialize in seo and conversion optimization - I know a good amount of html/css - but I’m completely lost when it comes to programming.

I’ve worked a lot on the front end of aspdotnetstorefront, so I know my way around admins pretty well

So is it possible to get a site up and running without any programming skills?

The main things I’m thinking that may be difficult are:

- Setting up the Payment Gateway
- Custom Functionality (though I’m sure I can do without it)
- XML packages
- etc.

Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

Brandon

Total Posts:  76
Web Developer

Eventually, yes.  You will be able to download and skin templates and run everything else from admin… in theory.

Magento Community
Magento Community

NickL

Total Posts:  188

Greencollector,
I’ll definitely testify that Magento truly is MVC, meaning the View is pretty much completely separate from the program code.  If you have a good grasp of CSS/Html then you WILL be able to layout Magento anyway you imagine it. I’ll be posting a example of a customized site in about an hour or so.  By just using the XML files and the matching .phtml files you’ll have a lot of control in your hands. And as Brandon mentioned eventually you’ll be able to more via the Admin CMS section.