Magento Forum

   
How do I delete a website? store? Start fresh? 
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

This should be simple… but I guess it isn’t.

How do I delete the “Main Website” and all the stores underneath it?  I’d like to try starting fresh with my own stores and websites. But everytime I click - “Delete Store” or “Delete Website” ... nothing happens. The stores and website is still listed.  I setup another demo installation and then deleted them from the “core_website” & “core_store” Tables in the Mysql Db but… that gave me a slew of errors. It removed them alright.. yet it seems there still cached or something..

Any thoughts Magento Team?

This isn’t for production.. I just wanted to see how flexible this is…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Spiderden
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2007-08-31
Kenley, Surrey, UK
 

AFAIK you can’t at the moment.

The same question was asked a week ago and no one has found a way to do it short of deleting them directly from the database.

This problem was discussed on this thread http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/185/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Spider,
Thanks bud.  But has anyone found how to SAFELY remove them from the DB? I don’t mind doing it via the database.. but after removing the core_website and core_store table entries I got errors.  Removing the core_store was fine.. but removing from core_website caused major issues.

Have you removed them from the DB?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Deletion of stores and websites is not finalized yet.

When you remove a website, besides removing a record from core_website, run also this (replace @website_id with id):

delete from core_config_data where scope='websites' and scope_id=@website_id;

Do the same for stores:

delete from core_config_data where scope='stores' and scope_id=@store_id;

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Thanks Moshe… I’ll try that and then report back.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Moshe… it seemed to work great, Thanks.

One other question… I’m assuming setting up a new website & store requires that the CODE be set to “base” for it to be used as the default?

Is this so?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

The store that will be run is decided by code in the index.php

Mage::run($storeCode);

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Awww ok. .That explains it.  So how does Magento choose which Store to run? If you don’t set that code in index.php?  ($storeCode)

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Moshe
Magento Team
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1770
Joined:  2007-08-07
Los Angeles
 

Please check this link: http://www.magentocommerce.com/wiki/Multiple-website-setup/

Let me know if you have more questions smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

OHHHHH ok.  My bad Moshe.. now I understand.

I didn’t even see that wiki… I swore i searched for it.

Thanks for the help though. Explains alot.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
    Back to top