Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 2
After 1.3.2 upgrade search results has missing items
 
napacabs
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2009-03-09
Chino, CA
 

Some items are not returned for either the simple or advanced search.

Tried the following, with no success:

Verified that item is attached to website
verified that the item is listed as in-stock
In-stock quantity is greater then the “Minimum Qty for Item’s Status to be Out of Stock”.
Item is a “Simple Products”
Item Status “Enabled”
“Stock Availability” set to “In Stock”
“Visibility” is set to “Catalog, Search”.
Saved and re-saved with new images and prices.
Updated to 1.3.2.1
Rebuild search index
cleared cache
cleared and restarted browsers firefox, safari, IE8 & IE7

Still items are not displaying in search results;however, they do display properly using the “url key” . Any suggestions or is this a bug?

Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
timpea
Member
 
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

Hi,

I am having the same problems, any product that is not assigned to a category does not appear in the search.

I have reported a bug here:
http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=6452

Regards
Tim

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
napacabs
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2009-03-09
Chino, CA
 

My search excluded items have a category assigned.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
timpea
Member
 
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

I have just tested a new clean installation of 1.3.2.1 and the same problem occurs, any product without a category assigned does not appear in the search results.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
timpea
Member
 
Total Posts:  68
Joined:  2007-09-03
 

Anyone needing a quick work around before this is solved, create a new category that is not active, and add all products to it.  Products then appear in the search results.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Editorial
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2009-04-22
 

Tried that option above and am still getting no search results. Most frustrating as this bug effectively brings the whole site to a halt.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davis2125
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2009-06-02
 

I had the same problem. Some products not showing up in search results but are assigned to categories. I ended up having to edit each product and then save it. This solved the problem for me.

Davis

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Melchior5
Member
 
Total Posts:  49
Joined:  2009-03-25
Montréal, Québec
 

To make ‘Catalog Rewrites’ and ‘Rebuild Flat Catalog Product’ in the Cache Management Panel solved the problem for me.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
juice1492
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2009-02-18
 

I was having the same problem.  After tracing through the code, I found where Magento is “filtering” out products that are uncategorized (i.e. not associated with a category).  In app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Visibility.php around line 80, is the addVisibleInSearchFilterToCollection function.  If you comment out the first line, both categorized and uncategorized products will return when doing a search.

public function addVisibleInSearchFilterToCollection(Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract $collection)
    
{
        
//$collection->setVisibility($this->getVisibleInSearchIds());
        //$collection->addAttributeToFilter('visibility', array('in'=>$this->getVisibleInSearchIds()));
        
return $this;
    
}

Note: this was posted on my blog

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
maxq
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2008-10-27
Florida
 

I’m using simple configurable products and the search seems to ignore everything but simple products, surely this can’t be the way it’s meant to function?

Even the advanced search doesn’t seem to work, I’ve cleared the cache rebuilt the indexes but nothing seems to work.
How very “Magento”

Anyone have a fix for this?
Thanks

Figured it out, please ignore!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
d8bhatta
Member
 
Total Posts:  44
Joined:  2009-06-11
 

I am also facing same problem when flat catalog is on....

when the flat catalog is on, addVisibleInSearchFilterToCollection() function doesn’t work

public function addVisibleInSearchFilterToCollection(Mage_Eav_Model_Entity_Collection_Abstract $collection)
{
//$collection->setVisibility($this->getVisibleInSearchIds());
//$collection->addAttributeToFilter(’visibility’, array(’in’=>$this->getVisibleInSearchIds()));
return $this;
}

but I am eager to know how product lisitng works in flat catalog mode..it might have checked whether the product’s visibility is ‘no where’ or not....

I think we have to trace product listing code in this mode to find the solution…

if any one knows the solution please post it to

d8bhatta@gmail.com

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
maxq
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2008-10-27
Florida
 

For me it was a simple error, just make sure your products are listed as catalog,search for visibility.
Hope that helps.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
paul_smit
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2010-02-02
 

Hi,

I have an almost alike issue, in my search I use the filters so the visitor is able to filter on the different catagories. For one product it is not shown while it is the same categorie. An example using my website about sunglasses:

1. Visitor runs a search on Ray Ban
2. Search returns the filter option on the catagorie Ray Ban
3. Selecting Ray Ban shows six models, but should show seven, one is missing (see attachment)

I looked in my backend to the categories and noticed that after the categorie (ray ban) there is 6 iso 7 in between the brackets (see attachment)

Weird thing is it does show in my menu’s but only not in the search.

Hope someone is able to help me on my issue.

Thanks, Paul

Image Attachments
frontend-search.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
paul_smit
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  23
Joined:  2010-02-02
 

Hi,

I have an almost alike issue, in my search I use the filters so the visitor is able to filter on the different catagories. For one product it is not shown while it is the same categorie. An example using my website abot sunglasses:

1. Visitor runs a search on Ray Ban
2. Search returns the filter option on the catageorie Ray Ban
3. Selecting Ray Ban shows six models, but should show seven, one is missing (see attachment)

I looked in my backend to the categories and noticed that after the categorie (ray ban) there is 6 iso 7 in between the brackets (see attachment)

Weird thing is it does show in my menu’s but only not in the search.

Hope someone is able to help me on my issue.

Thanks, Paul

Image Attachments
backend.pngfrontend-search.png
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
maxq
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  126
Joined:  2008-10-27
Florida
 

First
make sure all your items are listed in catalog, search.
Second in the admin , system, cache management, search index, rebuild.
Hopefully that will fix it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ilse
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2010-02-19
 

Hey there,

I tried the last solution but it didn’t work. But then I found in another post: run reindex for all indexes.
This did the trick for me…

So:
System - Index Management:
Select all indexes - select Reindex Data in the Actions Select Box - click Send

Greetz!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 2