Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

City list into dropdownlist
 
arumugaselvi
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2009-02-11
 

Hi friends urgent help
i want to display all the city into dropdown list instead of text field and user have to select the city from dropdownlist.
ex
<select name="select" class="input-text required-entry” id="billing:city">
<option selected="selected">Hawally</option>
<option value="Salmiya">Salmiya</option>
<option value="arthiya">arthiya</option>
</select>
it is not working when i select the city

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
abille
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-08-21
 

hi,
anything about this ?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FrankTheDog
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-09-23
 

I am also wondering ...

May be this one?
http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/15785/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
abille
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-08-21
 

Hi,
my need was to calculate shipment according tu buyer’s city of residence.
i made my own module to achieve this work.
cities and amounts are inserted in a specific table, from the backend.
city list is built within a block
amount is calculated when a city is selected.
i also modified the cart, user editing form, one page checkout, to integrate the changes

if you need something similar, i can post my mork…
let me know !

regards
Franck

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FrankTheDog
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-09-23
 

Yes, that is exactly what I am trying to do ...

Can you please post it here?
May be we can make it into a community module later on ...
I am quite sure there are a bunch of people who need this kind of module.

Thank You in advance ...

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
abille
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-08-21
 

Here it is,
i hope ihave packaged all needed files, but if not, just let me know and i’ll check.
if you have questions, feel free to contact me.
keep in mind that the module was developped for my own need, and perhaps is not perfect for everyone.

best regards,
Franck

File Attachments
module_cityList.zip  (File Size: 38KB - Downloads: 1268)
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FrankTheDog
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-09-23
 

Thank you very much Franck ! 
will test it in my localhost, and get back to you later ...

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
abille
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-08-21
 

i omitted a small detail wink
- rates are not provided in the module (that was my first idea, but then i changed), but in the “Matrix rates” shipment module.
- you must insert in the matrix rates module the same cities you use in the “citylist” module. perhaps it could be interesting to modify the module so it uses the “matrix rates” city list and avoid double cities import
- user can not input his own city at registration, but must choose in the provided list.
- a “lightbox like” popup is displayed when a user can’t find his city in the list (my aim is now to add an email field that will be used to inform the user when his city is delivered)

...

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FrankTheDog
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-09-23
 

I think it is missing two files:
- app/etc/modules/ATI_Citylist.xml
- app/design/adminhtml/default/default/layout/ATI_Citylist.xml

I try to re-generate them with standard convention and seems to works fine
Thank you !

...

I think a more interesting idea is to take the shipping logic out of magento and create an internal mini xml-rpc server to emulate DHL/UPS. We can just carry the variables (including addresses) to that mini server and define the logic there without messing with other magento’s vars. I dont have problem creating the receiving end (xml-rpc using PHP) but I am still struggling to give commands to magento confused

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
FrankTheDog
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2009-09-23
 

Ah ... but you are right, we still need the city to be “mandatory” in the customer addresses (deliverable or not) ...
so for now the best way to go is to use the city in “MatrixRates” tables ...

I’ll see what I can do once I understand how your module works ...

Best Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
pragneshkaria
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined:  2009-11-17
Mumbai
 
abille - 09 October 2009 12:36 AM

Here it is,
i hope ihave packaged all needed files, but if not, just let me know and i’ll check.
if you have questions, feel free to contact me.
keep in mind that the module was developped for my own need, and perhaps is not perfect for everyone.

best regards,
Franck

please provide us those two missing files if available with you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Jaco Wang
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2010-09-17
 
FrankTheDog - 09 October 2009 04:44 AM

I think it is missing two files:
- app/etc/modules/ATI_Citylist.xml
- app/design/adminhtml/default/default/layout/ATI_Citylist.xml

I try to re-generate them with standard convention and seems to works fine
Thank you !



I think a more interesting idea is to take the shipping logic out of magento and create an internal mini xml-rpc server to emulate DHL/UPS. We can just carry the variables (including addresses) to that mini server and define the logic there without messing with other magento’s vars. I dont have problem creating the receiving end (xml-rpc using PHP) but I am still struggling to give commands to magento confused

could you please kindly post this two files?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top