Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Dataflow on Magento 0.8.17240
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

I’ve problems importing products on Magento Beta 0.8.17240. Everything worked fine on the previous version, 0.0.1600 instead.
I am using the Profile Wizard, and although I’m choosing the “interactive Data Transfert”, when runnin the script in a popup, it doesn’t ask me to browse for a local file but it perform some automatic action. I think this happen ‘cos - somehow - the XML it is not created correctly.
This is the XML created automatically by the Wizard:

<action type="dataflow/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames"></var>
    <var name="
adapter">catalog/convert_adapter_product</var>
    <var name="
method">saveRow</var>
</action>

It is clear that a lot of fields are missing, for example mapped product should be handled this way:

<action type="varien/convert_mapper_column" method="map">
    <var 
name="column1"><![CDATA[sku]]></var>
    <var 
name="column2"><![CDATA[name]]></var>
    <var 
name="column5"><![CDATA[price]]></var>
    <var 
name="column6"><![CDATA[qty]]></var>
</
action>

Any help/suggestions? Does anyone had the same problem?

Thanks in advance

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Maybe it would be better to post both xml created from wizard.

Magento Preview 0.8.16100 (working)

<action type="varien/convert_adapter_http" method="load">

</
action><action type="varien/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[;]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames"></var>
</action>

<action type="
varien/convert_mapper_column" method="map">
    <var name="
column1"><![CDATA[sku]]></var>
    <var name="
column2"><![CDATA[name]]></var>
    <var name="
column3"><![CDATA[price]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_parser_product" method="parse">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[3]]></var>
</action>

<action type="
catalog/convert_adapter_product" method="save">
    <var name="
store"><![CDATA[3]]></var>
</action>

Magento Preview 0.8.17240 (not working)

<action type="dataflow/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
    <var 
name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
    <var 
name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
    <var name="
fieldnames"></var>
    <var name="
adapter">catalog/convert_adapter_product</var>
    <var name="
method">saveRow</var>
</action>
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
senders
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  49
Joined:  2008-02-26
Germany, Mannheim
 

Hi, I have got the same problem :-(

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 
senders - 12 March 2008 03:49 AM

Hi, I have got the same problem :-(

I am actually running two Magento stores for testing purpose on two different hosts (with different installation, different Dbs, etc) and nowhere I’m able to import a csv file.
It looked kinda weird to me one else had the same problem, so thanks for coming out tongue rolleye

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
devhen
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2008-02-27
 

*bump*

Same problem here. PHP 5.2.5, Apache 2.0.52 on CentOS. Hoping someone can find a fix so I don’t have to try to write my own import script.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Just wanted to add that also “cshontz” has the same problem as described here: http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4377/

So there are actually 4 users with the same problem about Dataflow.

I wonder if there are more people stuck on this, or if someone else managed to get the import function working correctly instead.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
JoshBelke
Member
 
Total Posts:  64
Joined:  2008-02-12
NY, NY
 

I have multiple installs of each revision:
Install A) .8.17240 w/Sample Data
-export of sample data to XML / CSV

Install B) .8.17240 w/o Sample data (for import testing)
wizard: XML w/ or w/o Mapped fields =

<action type="dataflow/convert_adapter_io" method="load">
<var name="type">file</var>
<var name="path"></var>
<var name="filename"><![CDATA[importA.xml]]></var>
</action>

<action type="dataflow/convert_parser_csv" method="parse">
<var name="delimiter"><![CDATA[,]]></var>
<var name="enclose"><![CDATA["]]></var>
<var name="fieldnames">true</var>
<var name="adapter">catalog/convert_adapter_product</var>
<var name="method">saveRow</var>
</action>

feedback for run:
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Dataflow/Model/Convert/Parser/Csv.php on line 94
[0] in Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Parser_Csv->parseRow(85, Array[2]) in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Dataflow/Model/Convert/Parser/Csv.php on line 67
[1] in Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Parser_Csv->parse(Array[0]) in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Dataflow/Model/Convert/Action/Abstract.php on line 226
[2] in Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Action_Abstract->run() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Dataflow/Model/Convert/Profile/Abstract.php on line 124
[3] in Mage_Dataflow_Model_Convert_Profile_Abstract->run() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Dataflow/Model/Profile.php on line 92
[4] in Mage_Dataflow_Model_Profile->run() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/Block/System/Convert/Profile/Run.php on line 69
[5] in Mage_Adminhtml_Block_System_Convert_Profile_Run->_toHtml() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Block/Abstract.php on line 553
[6] in Mage_Core_Block_Abstract->toHtml() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Adminhtml/controllers/System/Convert/ProfileController.php on line 182
[7] in Mage_Adminhtml_System_Convert_ProfileController->runAction() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Action.php on line 341
[8] in Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Action->dispatch("run") in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Router/Admin.php on line 141
[9] in Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Router_Admin->match(Mage_Core_Controller_Request_Http) in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Controller/Varien/Front.php on line 147
[10] in Mage_Core_Controller_Varien_Front->dispatch() in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/app/Mage.php on line 400
[11] in Mage::run("default") in /var/www/eins1.us/www/0.8.17240/magento2/index.php on line 29

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Update: since a lot of things lead me to think the wizard in 0.8.17240 is bugged, i’ve tryied to set up manually an XML through the Advanced Profile.
But something went wrong again and now I am stuck with an “Internal Server Errror”.
Deleted the var/cache, checked chmods agains, but the error still remains.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
devhen
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2008-02-27
 

FIXED!!! Or at least I think I have found the bug. It fails to load your profile’s delimiter. So in this file:

Mage/Dataflow/Model/Convert/Parser/Csv.php

on line 37:

$fDel = $this->getVar(’delimiter’, ‘,’);

The correct delimeter is not used. I am hard coding my delimiter for now but hopefully a Magento developer can get this fixed.

Also, the column mapping doesn’t appear to work. I am having to use field names in the first row of my CSV file.

Hope this helps.

Devin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cibernoid
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  208
Joined:  2008-02-12
 

Hi devin, nice finding. Thank you for sharing it.
I gave up trying to get it work tough, and now I’m looking forward waiting for the next software release.
Hopefully Magento team is awared of the bug and they are working to fix it.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NickL
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  188
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

hey, I wanted to bump this thread, I posted this same issue and wanted to keep all the activity in one place.

Any updates fixes?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gabrielk
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  83
Joined:  2007-11-30
 
cibernoid - 17 March 2008 06:53 AM

Hi devin, nice finding. Thank you for sharing it.
I gave up trying to get it work tough, and now I’m looking forward waiting for the next software release.
Hopefully Magento team is awared of the bug and they are working to fix it.

Reporting it with the bug tracker would probably be a good thing, if you haven’t done it already.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
devhen
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined:  2008-02-27
 
gabrielk - 19 March 2008 11:48 AM

cibernoid - 17 March 2008 06:53 AM
Hi devin, nice finding. Thank you for sharing it.
I gave up trying to get it work tough, and now I’m looking forward waiting for the next software release.
Hopefully Magento team is awared of the bug and they are working to fix it.

Reporting it with the bug tracker would probably be a good thing, if you haven’t done it already.

The bug is here:

http://www.magentocommerce.com/bug-tracking/issue?issue=1392

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top