Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 10
Trouble getting product images to show, only placeholder shows up! 
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

Okay i’ve been wasting toom much time on this.

It looks like the images arn’t uploading. The only image in my media folder is the placeholder, see below.

http://www.mysite.com/cart/media/catalog/product/cache/1/small_image//135x135/images/catalog/product/placeholder/small_image.jpg

- Have a category list showing on the home CMS page.
- Have cleared cache, and even disabled it for now.
- Uploading product image fails, but says success.
- I don’t see a preview of the uploaded image.
- On second attempt it fails, and notifys me with the red box.
- media folder is chmod’d 777 -R

Using PHP5 as an apache module, and MySql5 on a shared host
GD2 with jpg support is there
Looks like the rest of the site is working fine so far.

Can anyone suggest what i should do from here?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mytechfactory
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  78
Joined:  2007-12-27
New York, NY
 

having the exact same problem

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

I’m going to have a hunt around my apache error logs and see if i can find any clues

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PCGamesPlus
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  166
Joined:  2008-01-03
Sacramento, CA
 

Sorry, but I have to ask. I’ve already searched to no avail. What is a placeholder for the pictures? What is it’s function? Thanks

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

A placeholder image is just a default image displayed;

i.e. should you not have an image for a product… it’s there to just fill the gap so the page style doesn’t break or look inconsistent.

Like take a look at my avatar image to the left <------ lol that is a classic example of a placeholder image (until i upload a mugshot). lol.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
PCGamesPlus
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  166
Joined:  2008-01-03
Sacramento, CA
 

Thanks.. In other software, it’s the “No Photo Available” picture. I get it thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

So back on topic…

I’ve check the apache error logs, nothing.
Any luck MTF?

Now if i was to manually upload the product images myself, what directory structure should i use?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
redpen
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  254
Joined:  2008-01-23
 

Your permissions on the media folders are right, yeah?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
infradawn
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2008-02-02
White Peak UK
 

Ditto on 0.8.17240. Uploading product images the % copied value cranks up but I’m left with a red box around each image file. The media folder is not populated (permissions 777). I’m using the latest version of Flash. All works ok in the demo store from the same client so my guess is this is a server side issue.

iD

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

Same as infradawn, yes permissions 777.
I’ve tried rm -R ./media and creating it again, and refreshing the cache, that gets me green boxes, but still no files are uploaded.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tweakmag
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  307
Joined:  2007-08-31
London, UK
 

I have the same problem - upload shows progress but then just display the red box :( Time for investigations

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

Seems to be a common issue… glad i spoke up. smile

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ian M
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2008-01-16
 

I’m having exactly the same issue. I’ve tried everything I can think of to resolve this problem. I tried an upgrade from previous version, a complete fresh SVN install, a PEAR install but I just can’t upload any images. All worked OK in previous releases.

I’ve also checked file permissions and all seem OK!

Running LAMP with PHP 5

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Ian M
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  25
Joined:  2008-01-16
 

OK, upon searching, I have found a similar post relating to this problem :-

It says the getURL function in the file “app/code/core/Mage/Catalog/Model/Product/Image.php” is not returning the correct path because there are problems with forward and back slashes

This thread provides details and a work-around however, I have yet to get it to work for me!

http://www.magentocommerce.com/boards/viewthread/4246/

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
itcrowd.asia
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  13
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

Yeah i saw that post too, had a dig through the source. Not quite the same issue.
Windoze uses different directory seperators. i.e. ‘\’ instead of the ‘/’ for nix boxes.
It does give a lead as to what files might be involved in the process though…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iDave
Member
 
Total Posts:  33
Joined:  2008-03-10
 

Same problem here, can’t add any images.
Upload completes, when i press save i got kicked out of the admin.
I can howere upload images for catagories.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 10