Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

index.php missing from urls, no links work

hilbert54

Total Posts:  29

Total newbie

Installed on a remote server in a sub directory, no problem.

Home page displays fine but none of the links work.

Address bar shows: mysite.com/magento/pagename

If I insert index.php/ before the page name then the page displays fine.

i.e. mysite.com/magento/index.php/pagename

This is the same for all links, i.e. both default footer links and my newly created categories and products.

None of these pages are actually in the magento directory btw.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community

NeilA

Total Posts:  1372
Blue Mountains, Oz

Sounds like you have something amiss with your URL rewrites and/or .htaccess…
I admit to not knowing a huge amount in this area, but in Admin > system > configuration > general > web what do you have selected under ‘Base URLS’ and ‘Use web server rewrites’?

Magento Community
Magento Community

hilbert54

Thanks for the reply.

Base url: http://www.damsonjewellery.co.uk/magento/

Use webserver rewrites: Yes

I even need index.php in the address to access the admin.

I guess I could put index.php in the base url, but I don’t see that in the address of other magento sites.

Magento Community
Magento Community

hilbert54

I also should say that I cannot see the .htaccess file in the var directory.

It is not there in the original download, nor does it appear after installation.

Magento Community
Magento Community

NeilA

Blue Mountains, Oz