Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 2 of 3
Cannot access to backend
 
davedavedave
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  238
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

By adding 127.0.0.1 localhost.com to my windows hosts file and then accessing the admin, this seemed to work.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mungkey
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2007-09-01
 

Its the same problem here. I entered the correct information and still it wont let me get past the login screen. I enter wrong information and it gives an error. But for correct information, it does not. It just shows the login page like normal with no special messages whatsoever. What could be the problem?
If anybody has a solution for this, help is much appreciated thanks in advance.

EDIT:

Sorry My bad. Solved the problem already with the system detecting ‘localhost’ and the ip. Probably confused with the absolute URL thing for SSL.
thanks.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
jfbonham
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  27
Joined:  2008-01-08
 

I had the same problem. Hmmm, wonder what changed.

With previous versions I could log on with localhost:8888/folder/admin

Now it works if I log on to 127.0.0.1:8888/folder/admin

I am using MAMP on Mac.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tijuan
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined:  2007-11-22
Toulouse (France)
 

localhost can’t work as explained previously, you can use “no-ip.com” service for instance if you don’t want to deal with apache config.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
dwrf
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  2
Joined:  2008-03-10
 

I had the same issue with the admin login, jfbonham has the same setup as me, so his fix worked.
Changed the localhost link, from localhost:8888 to 127.0.0.1:8888

Now after setting up a sample customer, I noticed while in the Dashboard of the customer client “My Account” link has the “http://localhost:8888/magento/index.php/customer/account/”
and “Log out” http://localhost:8888/magento/index.php/customer/account/” and the “My Wishlist” have http://127.0.0.1:8888/magento/index.php/...” (correct path)

This seems to have the same linking issue throughout the customer area. Even inside “My Wishlist” the nav bar on the left is linking back to the “http://localhost:8888/magento/index.php/...”
It will bump me back to the “http://localhost:8888/magento/index.php/customer/account” then I have to change the “localhost:8888” back to “127.0.0.1:888” everytime.

any ideas?
Cheers

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
ziggystardust
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2008-03-08
Barcelona
 
Michael - 09 March 2008 01:18 AM

davy - 09 March 2008 12:59 AM
Same error. login/password correct (otherwise I get Access denied error) but I ca’t get past the login page.
Installed new version (0.8.1720) from scratch on windows

Oh, I see. I guess you installed magento on localhost and are trying to access it like http://localhost/magento. But due to standard restrictions browsers don’t save cookie for domains with no dots in domain name. You can try to access it with http://localhost.com/magento or whatever else if you write it to your hosts file on Windows.

It works!!! Thank you so much!!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Greg
Member
 
Total Posts:  53
Joined:  2007-12-03
Carmel, IN USA
 

Okay,

I upgraded via PEAR last night around 11:00PM.  Notice this morning that there are some things deleted when this is done.  index.php is gone and there is an index.php.sample.  I’ve copied .sample to index.php and I can load my store front.  Weird behavior thought.  I am required to hit enter with the URL in my browser address line.  If I use my bookmark no luck.  Also, nothing I do will even present the Admin login panel.  Where did I go wrong.

BTW, the new post this morning that mentions the deletion of files during PEAR upgrade mentions the removal of .htaccess and the inclusion of .htaccess.sample.  I didn’t get this file and as far as I can remember, never needed it in the first place.

Any thoughts?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Greg
Member
 
Total Posts:  53
Joined:  2007-12-03
Carmel, IN USA
 

Okay!  My mistake.  Found the .htaccess.sample, copied it to .htaccess and I can get to the backend.  Still must hit the return key on the address line.  Bookmark doesn’t work....  I’ll keep plugging away and post answers as I find them.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Liam
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  9
Joined:  2008-03-08
 

I’m not sure what Greg’s configuration issues are about but it sounds something like the problems I’m having. I can’t see the frontend though the backend works fine. Anyone have any idea how to see the frontend in the browser? I see nothing, not even an error page, just a blank page in both firefox and explorer.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
fambeec22
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  1
Joined:  2008-02-19
 

Using 127.0.0.1 solves issue on local install
so use this: http://127.0.0.1/magento/index.php/admin it will be OK

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Mexx
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  35
Joined:  2007-09-04
Germany
 
davy - 09 March 2008 10:17 AM

Using 127.0.0.1 also solves issue on local install

THX, that solved it!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
tiberius
Jr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  30
Joined:  2008-04-13
 

Using 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost doesn’t work for me, I get access denied. I am tempted to delete everything and start again but I suspect that I will see the same problem.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Adam_Shuy
Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  51
Joined:  2008-02-20
San Jose, CA
 

I have no such problem when I was working on my local ubuntu machine.  But I recently install the magento to a Linux Fedora7 core server VPS, I had the same problem. I am very sure my input for user name and password are correct, but nothing happened, no error message either. 
I used the root user for MySQL magento database in my local ubuntu machine, but I can not do the same way in my VPS. I Also use chmod -R 777 magento for all the magento files in my local machine. But I need to use chmod -R 775 for all the magento files except ../app/etc, var and media folders for security reason.

How can I solve the problem? Please help!!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Levani
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  10
Joined:  2008-08-18
 

Hi. I also have problems with log in to backend. The idea is that it worked before but i stopped working now. I do not have localhot. I have registered domain and I am not able to login. It always redirects me to the login page and when I enter the wrong password it displays and error.

The only thisng I changes is that I used global IP address for installation and later registered URL. Maybe it is causing the problem. If yes how I can fix it.

Thanks

OK I also tried to use my IP address but it does the same. Redirects to the login page and all the time add the foolowing to URL:

1st try: http://mydomain.com/magento/admin?ft
2nd try: http://mydomain.com/magento/admin?ft?ft
3rt try http://mydomain.com/magento/admin?ft?ft?ft (look at the end of the address)

Any ideas?

Thanks again

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
joyously
Guru
 
Total Posts:  447
Joined:  2008-08-21
 

@Levani
I’m getting the exact same thing this morning.
My installation is 1.1.3 and it’s been on my host for about 10 days, working fine. When I tried to log in this morning, it just redirects to ?ft.
Clearing the cookies changed nothing. I’m not on a local host; I’m on a shared server.
I tried synchronizing my time, but it was already correct.
I’m using Mozilla and it’s been working, so what has changed this morning?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 2 of 3