Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Page 1 of 3
Cannot access to backend
 
ziggystardust
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  24
Joined:  2008-03-08
Barcelona
 

Hi,

Once I’ve made the installation of magento, I try to access to the backend, and I inform user and password correctly but I cannot access to magento!!!

Help me, please!!!!

Thanks in advance.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michael_1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

You can try to reset your admin password - see Resetting Admin Password wiki page for details

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

I am having the same problem. I am positive that my login info is correct.

Curious, shouldn’t there a ‘I forgot my password’ option in the admin login page?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mayerwin
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-01-15
France
 

That’s strange, I have the same problem right now. I tried the password update thing but it doesn’t work :-(.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Same here. I changed the password in phpMyadmin, still not working. I changed to new password three times, reboot my MAMP Pro, tried three browsers and empty browser caches.

The installation was very smooth though.

p/s. I downloaded the zip version.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mayerwin
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-01-15
France
 

The problem doesn’t come from a wrong login, since it is not written “Denied access” when I try to log in. It isn’t a browser thing either, so it seems to be in the code. I can’t find out how the login process is structured so it will be hard for me to try to debug it by myself. Maybe I’ll just go to bed now, sleep is good.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
mayerwin
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  182
Joined:  2008-01-15
France
 

OK guys, I have found something:
Go to the following URL http://[magento_directory]/index.php/admin/dashboard/, you’ll have to fill the login form. It won’t succeed as expected, BUT just after, you type again http://[magento_directory]/index.php/admin/dashboard/ in the address bar, press [Enter] and normally you should arrive into the admin panel.
I hope it works for you.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
mayerwin - 08 March 2008 04:24 PM

OK guys, I have found something:
Go to the following URL http://[magento_directory]/index.php/admin/dashboard/, you’ll have to fill the login form. It won’t succeed as expected, BUT just after, you type again http://[magento_directory]/index.php/admin/dashboard/ in the address bar, press [Enter] and normally you should arrive into the admin panel.
I hope it works for you.

Doesn’t work :(

Even if it works, it seems very wrong to have to login like this.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
gamelodge
Sr. Member
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  89
Joined:  2007-08-31
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
 

I have the same problem - installation goes well, but cannot login user/pass is 100% correct

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davy
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-01-21
 

Same error. login/password correct (otherwise I get Access denied error) but I ca’t get past the login page.
Installed new version (0.8.1720) from scratch on windows

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Michael_1
Enthusiast
 
Total Posts:  826
Joined:  2007-08-31
 
davy - 09 March 2008 12:59 AM

Same error. login/password correct (otherwise I get Access denied error) but I ca’t get past the login page.
Installed new version (0.8.1720) from scratch on windows

Oh, I see. I guess you installed magento on localhost and are trying to access it like http://localhost/magento. But due to standard restrictions browsers don’t save cookie for domains with no dots in domain name. You can try to access it with http://localhost.com/magento or whatever else if you write it to your hosts file on Windows.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
iblastoff
Sr. Member
 
Total Posts:  252
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

yep pretty quick just to set up vhosts. i access my local installation via magento.dev/admin

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
Tobbe
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  7
Joined:  2007-11-16
 
Michael - 09 March 2008 01:18 AM

Oh, I see. I guess you installed magento on localhost and are trying to access it like http://localhost/magento. But due to standard restrictions browsers don’t save cookie for domains with no dots in domain name. You can try to access it with http://localhost.com/magento or whatever else if you write it to your hosts file on Windows.

I also had this problem. This solved it! Great and thanks!
/Tobbe

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
magetel
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  8
Joined:  2007-10-23
Colmenar Viejo
 

Not solved for me…
I’ve tried in 3 PCs and can’t login on any. Pevious version installed OK and still running on same PCs

Windows XP
WAMP5

Miguel

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
davy
Jr. Member
 
Total Posts:  20
Joined:  2008-01-21
 

Using 127.0.0.1 also solves issue on local install

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
lotusseedsD
Mentor
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1144
Joined:  2007-08-31
 

Adding ‘.com’ doesn’t work for me.

I named the server name as ‘mag817’ with 8888 port and this is how I access:  ‘http://mag817:8888”. Localhost couldnt’ work for me the first time I setup the MAMP Pro. The teach support from MAMP Pro told me to use ‘server-name:port-number’.

Any MAMP Pro user?  Or is there a way I can modify the code to make it work?

Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top
Page 1 of 3