Posting in the Magento forums has been disabled pending the implementation of a new and improved forum solution which should better serve the community.

For new questions please post at magento.stackexchange.com, the community-run support site for the Magento community. We will be providing updates on the new forum solution soon. For questions or concerns please email community@magento.com.

Magento Forum

Help with transactional e-mail bug…
 
cloudquarry
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  528
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

I believe I’ve done everything properly in configuring my transactional e-mails, but I’m still getting the darned Magento logo instead of mine.

Here’s the steps I took:
1. Knowing there’s an issue around custom themes and the e-mails, I opted to hardcode the link for my logo graphic. So I went into Admin->Transactional E-mails and selected one at random that was easy to test: Missing Password.

2. I loaded the template, and where it used to call logo_email.gif, I replaced with:

<img src="/magento/skin/frontend/default/modern/images/logo.png"  alt="alt" border="0"/>

This is definitely the right path to the image - I’ve tested it.

3. Saved and triggered the e-mail. Magento logo. Dangit!

4. Maybe something is cached. I refreshed cache. Didn’t work. Deleted /var/cache/. Didn’t work. Disabled cache. Didn’t work. Still getting emails with the Magento logo.

HELP! Since I modified the code in the transactional e-mail, I don’t know where else to go to attempt to solve this issue. Thanks!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cloudquarry
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  528
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

Hm. I just found this: {Magento Root}/app/locale/en_us/template/email/

Should I be modifying the templates directly in there? Is the admin functionality not actually functional?

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cloudquarry
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  528
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

Figured it out. Not only do you have to load the mail, but you have to set it to use that template under “Config”. Whoops. Forgot that step. All is working now.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

Glad you’ve worked it out, but just for the record, this is an upgrade proof approach to modifying the transactional emails:

In Admin > System > transactional emails click ‘Add new template’
Then under ‘Load default template’ select the default template that you want to base your new template on from the dropdown. (This just saves you writing them from scratch).

Click ‘Load Template’

Under ‘Template Information, enter a new name (very important to id your new email from the default one!), then edit away to your hearts content changing whatever you want, and deleting the dummy phone and email address.

When you are happy, click ‘save template’

Repeat for as many as you want changed.

THEN…

Go to System > Configuration > Sales > sales emails and change the selection by choosing your new email template names from the dropdown.

Save changes.

That should do it. And your emails won’t revert back to the default when you next upgrade Magento.

Regards

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cloudquarry
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  528
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

Thanks Neil. I really appreciate the clarification around upgrades!

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

No worries wink

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
back2007
Member
 
Total Posts:  59
Joined:  2009-03-30
 

Hi, ksolaro

One more question:  Why does not default code

<img src="{{skin url="images/logo_email.gif" _area='frontend'}}" />
work for you ? Magento should use current skin (modern in your case).
 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
NeilA
Moderator
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  1372
Joined:  2007-09-17
Blue Mountains, Oz
 

Actually, you are correct Adjustware - that does work - I was thinking about other places (like the logo in the header) I had problems with with relative urls…

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
 
cloudquarry
Guru
 
Avatar
Total Posts:  528
Joined:  2008-11-19
 

Yeah, I’m back to using the default code now. I had hardcoded things just to make absolutely certain there was no way the code could be wrong. But without the newsletters configured to pull the templates I created, it didn’t matter.

 
Magento Community Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Magento Community
Back to top